We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #51 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
newcastle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Generous 4 stars”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well, if I had booked and stayed in a river walk room with a good rate this probably would have been 5 stars. If we had to stay in the original room, probably 2 stars.
The location is a good 10-15 min walk along the river to the first bars / food which although is pleasant I wouldn't want to be a group of lady travellers or elderly as there were some weird people either asking for money or just being rude, obviously homeless. Parking as mentioned is 15 dollars which to be fair isn't bad, straight across the road and purely for hotel guests.
The biggest issue I have is as a gold elite member you are supposed to get an upgrade if available. Checked in, no request to ask if I was a rewards member, I showed the card and asked if the points could be registered, the gentleman checking me in actually said, thanks for being a gold member so assumed a nice room would await us... Went to the room and was gob smacked at the view of the car park, not a nice one either! I mean, to say river walk, pictures of views on website and then to sell a room with that view? We rang down and was told immediately that yes, we have a river view room and come down and we will swap you, simple as that. The new room was fantastic but if I hadn't gone to raise the issue, we would have spent a considerable amount of money on a view that I could have had in a hotel half the price. I'm glad the staff were happy to move us though so that's a bonus. Please pay the extra and get a river walk view, not that it's a full view but it's lovely and peaceful at the back of the hotel.
Staff were ok, mainly chatting or looking quite bored... The only person that stood out was the bar manager.. I was overwhelmed with how friendly and professional he was, even the way he showed a new starter in the bar the ropes was exceptional.
Only two sun loungers for the pool, the pool gets sun in only half the area and by 5pm it's gone. Air con was good but if you have a river walk view with balcony, the heat from the air con unit obviously blows out heat and becomes too hot to keep it switched on when you sit on the balcony.
I do think there are better hotels but if you want a river view and don't mind the walk into the main area, you can't go wrong for the price. Just some niggles with the staff in my opinion. If you get a car park view, I'd stay closer to the centre and take the hit on the view as unless you pay a fortune, you aren't going to get a great view anywhere, stay in the centre as opposed to river walk.
Great city though!
Ps pillows very hard! Like bricks in fact..

Room Tip: River walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephendon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    311
    134
    56
    36
See reviews for
230
316
24
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville,tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed and the hotel indigo on the riverwalk not the one by the Alamo. The rooms were clean which isn't always the case in a pet friendly hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food from room service was horrible but other that that it is a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shanks76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel my heart sank because the neighborhood looked sketchy. But I felt better once I walked through the spacious art deco lobby. I was relieved to find the stairs that lead down to the river walk. However this is a quiet part of the walk and u have to walk along it for about 10 mins before reaching the restaurants and shops, which is fine. After the hustle and bustle its nice to come back to a quiet place. Nice lobby and bar but there's no complementary coffee and parking is $15/day. Pool is way too small. Room was clean and spacious. Staff was nice and helpful, particularly Renee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed four nights on business. Three story, older building that has been totally remodeled inside. Hotel is on a less traveled part of the river walk. Expect to walk 15-20 minutes in either direction for dining but it is a pleasant walk or you can take a river taxi which stops at the hotel. King bed rooms are large and well laid out. Small wet bar with Keureg coffee maker. Sleep quality was very good, there was literally no noise after about 9 PM. Lots of families with kids and also a good number of business travelers. Nice little bar and bistro. Had breakfast there each morning for about 10-15 dollars. Good service at the bar and in the bistro. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very nice and unique hotel. It's easy to get to, very close to the AT&T Center, right on the Riverwalk. Comfortable bed, nice shower. I would definitely recommend and return. My two interactions with the staff were less than positive, however. One was condescending, the other made us wait while she chatted away on the phone. Other than that, our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebird1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that is like all the others....keep looking! Hotel Indigo is fun, beautiful, and quiet. The pictures on the website are true to what you see. BEWARE: There are 2 types of balconies. Juliet balcony, which is very small, and really no seating area. Then there is the large balcony which you see in the pictures with furniture. Make sure which one you will get with your reservation. Yes, parking is across the street, but I was fine with that. The decor was very nice and contemporary. The breakfast buffet was tasty, with a good variety. (approx. $15) We had dinner out. The pool is small with some seating area around it. There is also the seating area, outside of the pool area, that you see in the pictures. You really CAN'T see the RW from here as you have to walk down to it, but really, ? who cares ? We enjoyed this area in the evening, as well as coffee in the a.m. If you wish to have a drink, the bar is right inside the door and the bartender was attentive to our needs. (yes, there is some construction going on across the RW but since this is almost completed, we did not hear any noise) The ROOMS: I was in 201. It is at the very end of the hall, (I asked for a quiet room away from the elevators) king bed, 2 windows facing the courtyard and the 3rd facing the street. I did not spend much time in the room, but when I did there was no street noise. If you need a view, this is not the room for you. If you like an oversized room....request this one! The floors were beautiful and the room itself was great. The bed was a little on the firm side but comfortable. I am a coffee lover, so the Keurig in the room was superb!! I liked that they had real cups and not styrofoam. There is a fridge but no microwave. Another BEWARE: There is no bathtub! I knew this, but you may not. The bathroom is small but clean, and for those who need a shower head way up in the clouds, you get that here!! I am a fan of the thermostat on the wall.... The RIVERWALK: With a bit of looking into it, you would know that this hotel is located at the "not so busy" end of the RW. It was my preference. Walking to the restaurants and attractions is not a bad walk at all. I was with a group, but would have felt safe walking by myself during the day. (I did not walk at night, so I can't report on that) There are water taxis. It does stop at the Indigo as well as other places along the RW. You can buy a 24 hour pass, with unlimited rides. I felt I wasted $10. We waited for a taxi to come by for 30 minutes when we were ready to return to the hotel. We ended up walking back... The boats do have a few umbrellas, but if you don't do well in the sun/ heat then I don't recommend it. I DO recommend the trolley. You can catch it just around the corner, behind the hotel. It can be pricey @ $1.10 per ride/person. Make sure you check the hours. It does not run past 10 p.m. I much preferred the trolley over the water taxi. If you like BBQ I recommend the County Line located on the RW. Wrapping it all up, this is a hotel that I would recommend to families, couples and like me, a place for a reunion of friends! I don't think you will be disappointed. (Don't hesitate to ask me if you have any questions)

Room Tip: Room 201...corner room, large w/3 windows. No view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lover_of_musik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel is really nice inside and out! Rooms are really nice with the wood floors, nice big shower, fridge, but no microwave and we had a room with a big balcony. We stayed in room 252. Never had our room cleaned while there since we put the do not disturb sign on our door. The last night we stayed there the neighbors above us were VERY loud. Sounded like they were working out going back and forth stomping. My husband sounded like Godzilla was doing insanity above us. If I stayed here again I would request the top floor. The walk was not far from all of the stores and busy part of the river walk or the Alamo, about a ten minute walk. We walked there each day we were there. Gate to the river walk closes every night at 11pm so you may find yourself walking above the river walk on the main roads. Not too bad though. Parking is $15 per night but you can leave your car there the whole time. There is really no where else to park around the town unless you want to pay between $10-30 for parking which you can only leave your vehicle there for a few hours. So we chose to walk everywhere. I would stay here again if I came to San Antonio again.

Room Tip: Request the top floor if you want to have a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,994 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Menger Hotel
#28 of 355 in San Antonio
2,316 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing