We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #53 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Rockport, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Royal Group”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A group of us have been going to San Antonio once every June for the past 5 years. This year we stayed at the Hotel Indigo on N. St. Mary's (on the Riverwalk). We had a friend with two broken feet (don't think you can have more than that - which is a blessing) so we were using a walker and a wheelchair for her.
The rooms were clean, bright and cheery.
The morning staff seems to have their stuff really well together. However, and I hate it that there is an "however", we had requested that all of our rooms be together. Two were, then as other members of our group began to arrive, after 3p.m. rooms were not ready and people were being asked to wait, etc. Not ready! after 3p.m.! Which means we were dispersed around the hotel.
Staff was friendly.
Here's the rub -- remember, I said we had a person using a wheelchair -- the elevator did not go down to the riverwalk (it was broken) and when we asked how to get to the nearest wheelchair access area they were off by 180 degrees. That was a very warm - 93 degree - mistake.

Room Tip: First night the people over us were moving furniture, but our room was the only one to experience th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    316
    138
    59
    36
See reviews for
239
322
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotels on (or near) the Riverwalk have become expensive: the Hotel Indigo was a great way to get a super clean, very modern hotel at an acceptable rate. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was very good and the parking was right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

As a frequent business traveler, I am often disappointed when arriving to a location that is nothing like the online description. This hotel exceeded my expectations by far. Every staff member I encountered at this hotel was outstanding. The room was spacious, I love the wood floors and the beautiful updated bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable, the most comfortable hotel bed I have experienced in years. The back patio was absolutely wonderful after sunset. The relaxing atmosphere, cool breezes, and comfortable furniture made for a very relaxing evening after a long day of work. I was pleasantly surprised at the location along the Riverwalk. Until this point, I had not realized that there was such a quiet and peaceful portion of the Riverwalk. I enjoyed a relaxing stroll along the river walk every evening through the easy access staircase off the back patio. The bar has great happy hour specials daily, and the restaurant has great food. I also loved the coffee options at the café. I will definitely be returning, and next time will specifically ask for a river-view room with a balcony. Can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amytyler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed last week for 2 nights on business, and everything was perfect. Very friendly staff, great amenities and atmosphere. The meeting room was perfectly adequate and quite comfortable. The back patio on the Riverwalk was beautiful and relaxing. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed one night here and were very pleased. The Hotel decor and furnishings were very updated and beautiful. The room was very nice and beds were super comfy. There were 4 of us in one room with 2 qn beds...and we had plenty of room. Scenic view off the balcony of the pool and river. Hubby loved having the Keurig and I was impressed with the Aveda Bath products. The staff was extremely accommodating, and very friendly. Things to know: parking is across the street and you will have to pay per night for that, $15. This hotel is on the Riverwalk, but on the very North end. To get to the heart of the action (restaurants, shopping, etc) you will have to walk a good 20-30 minutes or pay for the water taxi (which picks up right at hotel). Water taxi rates are $5 pp one way trip or $10 pp for 24 hour unlimited pass. Family of four, $40.... Plus, if you are like my hubby, you'll tip every single time you take a trip; so add about $50 bucks more to that. It would be great if the hotel would comp these :) also, you will be stuck waiting for the water taxi a lot....since they only pass through that area like every 30 min. There's no free breakfast here, but a nice cafe and bakery....which serves the best chocolate muffin I've ever had. All in all....great hotel, but a lil overpriced for location and accessibility to the heart of the river walk. By the time we paid for hotel, parking & river taxi, we spent about $350 for one night. So, we actually could've stayed right in the heart of the river walk and saved all the time spent waiting on the taxi, and going back and forth.

Room Tip: River view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandrakintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

It truly was a welcomed surprise at how well everything was I was greeted by the staff with open arms from the moment I opened the door the room was fantastic clean and well put there was a small problem with the door to the room but got fixed pronto no complaints what so ever a great place to stay

Room Tip: stay o lower odd number side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

For our first trip to San Antonio, we booked this hotel because of its location on the Riverwalk, and it did not disappoint. We had a huge room with 2 comfortable queen beds, an easy chair and footstool, a mini kitchen (no microwave) with a Keurig coffeemaker. The bathroom was beautifully done, with a great shower but no tub, which was just fine with us. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there is an on site restaurant and bar, with a pleasant bartender for happy hour. Walk out the back door and down the steps onto the Riverwalk, and you can be in the midst of the bars and stores and restaurants in a 10 minute walk. Free parking across the street. Friendly lobby staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tier1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed yourself on your first trip to our beautiful city! Our team will be happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the amenities in the room, the restaurant, and our location. Our city has a lot to offer and we are happy you were able to experience it all on your first trip while staying with us! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,940 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,441 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,123 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing