We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #50 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this super hotel. Rooms well appointed, very clean and well equipped. Enjoy a river view, but at present there is some construction work being carried out over the river walk, and when the wind blows there is plenty of dust. The river taxi stops right outside for those who don't want to walk into the centre on the river walk. Staff are friendly especially Alex and Kim, with the exception of one chef, who was full of his own self importance. We had stayed and enjoyed our breakfast over the three mornings with no hassle over choice of entrees etc, but on the last day, there was a change of staff, & when my husband asked for the usual breakfast, 2 eggs sausage and bacon, we were told we would have to pay extra for 1 strip of bacon! The chef was very rude and would not listen to what we had to say, and walked off. We were very surprised by this attitude. Gordon Ramsey he is not

Room Tip: If you have a pre-paid breakfast voucher, check first as to what you can and cannot eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnieone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the hotel. We understand that you experienced an unpleasant moment over breakfast and we will be following up to ensure that this type of situation does not happen again. We are definitely happy to hear that our Alex and Kim were able to take care of you and make your experience here with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for your sincere and honest feedback and we certainly hope to see you with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    312
    134
    56
    36
See reviews for
231
317
24
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We booked two nights at Hotel Indigo through points. It was worth it! It is at the end of the Riverwalk but you have direct access and it took us 10-15 minutes to walk to the centre of SA. The room was comfortable and very very dark - great for sleeping! Our room was big and clean. We didn't make any use of the hotel's amenities - just to sleep - so we can't comment on the restaurant or the pool.
Our first night, we met the hotel's chief engineer on the elevator (I forget his name), he asked us if we were going to NIOSA (part of La Fiesta which was starting that night in SA). We said we didn't know what that was and he said do you want some free tickets (the hotel gave him two free passes and he couldn't make it). We said sure! He gave them to us.. it was a fun evening - thanks! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lievefamketoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! It is guest experience such as this one that truly inspire us to keep our guest happy. We are so thrilled to hear that you were able to visit NIOSA with the help of one of our team members. NIOSA is a big part of our Fiesta celebration here in town and anything we can do to help our guest experience our city as the locals do is always a good bonus. We certainly hope to see you with us on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Met friends at this hotel this week. It was awesome! We arrived very early around 11 am didn't think we would be able to check in but they had rooms available and graciously checked us in.
The rooms are very different in a refreshing way! No carpeting.... Hard wood floors and beautiful murals on the walls. The room had a little nook with refrigerator and sink and Keurig coffee makers.Couldnt ask for much more. The hotel had a restaurant/bar and really nice terrace that you could sit outside. It is slightly farther away from the main part of the riverwalk but you can take a water taxi or street taxi. Would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities our rooms have to offer. The hardwood floors and the Keurig makers are always something guest love about our hotel. The views from our patio are relaxing as well as we are on the northern end of the river you are able to take in the city life without the noise of it all. Thank you so much for staying with us and we certainly cannot wait to see you back here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay. My riverside view was amazing. Staff was great and my room was well appointed. The hotel was in a great location. This will be my preferred hotel every time I'm in San Antonio. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Riverview rooms are always in such high demand and we are happy to hear that you were able to book and really enjoy one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we can't wait to have you back here with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel in late April. our overall experience at this Hotel was great. It was nice to be able to walk right out onto the riverwalk. The beds were very comfortable. The only complaints that I have is the view out our window was very terrible. We looked out on there trash. There were old mattresses and dumpsters that were filthy. I thought for the price they could have given us a better room. l should have insisted on a different room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onehappytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We certainly are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Riverwalk and the location. Its definitely a beautiful site to see when visiting our city. We do apologize for the view in which you were given during your stay here. In sold out situations we do our best in ensuring that we are doing the best we can with room selections, types, and availability. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspect of our city and property and certainly hope to see you back here with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We came to celebrate our one year anniversary and had a great time. Robert was amazing when he checked us in, ready to help and offer suggestions whenever we needed. We loved that the location is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but still on the river walk. The hotel is wonderful and the rooms are beautiful and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCpendery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and Congratulations on behalf of our entire team here at Hotel Indigo Riverwalk. We are so happy to hear that Robert was able to provide you withe amazing service all our guest deserve. Thank you for choosing us to share such a memorable day with and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent 6 nights at hotel Indigo on the river walk. We were in town for a wedding and this was the perfect location for all planned activities.
This hotel is not on the busy part of the river. It is across the river from the new performing arts center and a block from the art institute. This is a very quiet area. You can take a river boat to Pearl brewery or downtown from the hotel. The desk has a GPS so they can tell you where the boats are.
Our room was on the front of the hotel. At first I thought it might be noisy but we heard nothing. The back facing the river may be noisy until the performing arts center is complete. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to go home. Bathroom small but nice. Aveda products but we had to keep asking when we ran out for shampoo and cream rinse.
Kurig coffee in room which was wonderful to wake up to. We had breakfast in the restaurant twice and it was very good. I think it was well worth the price.
Each afternoon we looked forward to flavored ice water at the desk. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and greeted us whenever we entered the hotel.
Reviews have talked about the difficulty parking and the price. You have to pay at every hotel in downtown San Antonio and this hotel is no different. We were able to unload our luggage and then park across the street. We didn't have a problem and there was security there at night when we came in late.
All in all I would book this hotel again. I don't know what it means to be a Igh member but we were very pleased with our experience.

Room Tip: Ask if there is still construction on the river. If there is take a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words on the hotel. Our team will be more than happy to hear how every single one of them impacted our guest. We understand that there were a few issues regarding your bathroom amenities and those issues will be addressed but we are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you so much for your honest and sincere feedback. We understand that you have a choice in where to stay when you travel and we are so happy you chose us. We certainly hope to see you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
1,100 reviews
Menger Hotel
#27 of 355 in San Antonio
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing