We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel in lovely historic river walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #59 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel very chic with uptown feel. Bar spacious and beautiful with entertaining friendly staff. Rooms beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and nice bath. Restaurant with good food choices and excellent staff. Many areas to sight see and shop nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debmccoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! It is feedback such as this that truly inspire us to continue to provide the top notch service our guest deserve. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy yourself while here at our hotel. Your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team. We certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 908 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Love it nice fancy but low cost food was good rooms are beautiful on the riverwalk easy to find very happy the price was incredible we recommend this stay to couples or families
Bar was really nice too

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyKiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your reviews and comments on our hotel. We are happy you chose to stay with us and recommend us. We certainly hope to see you here with us on your next trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while at a trade show. The hotel has easy parking and is not far from the convention center -- you can drive or walk it in about 15 minutes. I had a very nice river view room with a balcony. I feel this is a must if you are staying on the riverwalk! The balcony had nice, comfy patio furniture which is where I liked to sit, watch the boats go by and sip on a glass of wine. My room was spacious and had a refrigerator and a keurig for tea and coffee. You can walk the riverwalk to all the action (about 15 mins) or take a ferry. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TABBIE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are please to hear that you were able to stay in one of our riverview rooms. These room types are always in high demand and I'm sure after your stay you could see why. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspect of our hotel and city while staying with us. Thank you for choosing us and we certainly hope to see you back with us on your next trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was awesome and beautiful! Spacious, nice bathroom, big tv, huge balcony! It is a 0.5 mile walk on the riverwalk but if you walk on the streets it takes less time. But it was scenic and very nice to walk along! Would stay here again! 100%

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sydnee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for such kind words! We are so happy to hear that you were truly able to experience everything the hotel and our city has to offer. Its wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy a nice walk down the Riverwalk. Your message will be passed along to our team so they all know what a wonderful impact their hard work had on our guest. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you on the next trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

If being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the "tourist area" along the Riverwalk is where you want to stay, this may not be your location of choice; however, the Indigo does have direct access to the Riverwalk and is conveniently located midway between the "tourist area" and the newly developed area of the old Pearl Brewery (home to the Culinary Institute of America and cool restaurants). The Indigo is (1) a short six block walk along St. Mary's Street to all the excitement downtown (the Riverwalk route is nice but adds a few more steps to the walk); (2) about six blocks down 4th street to the Alamo/River Center Mall, and; (3) a nice, brisk 1.5 miles along the Riverwalk to the Old Pearl Brewery area. My wife and I also enjoyed the 10 minute walk back to the hotel one evening after enjoying the play Wicked at the Majestic Theatre. One or two of the buildings we passed by while walking on St. Mary's Street were abandoned or questionable but we never once felt unsafe.

The breakfast buffet (powder eggs, sausage links/sausage patties, home potatoes, French toast sticks, fresh fruit) was adequate for $12.95 knowing there weren't many other options nearby. There's a Starbucks about four blocks away next to the Majestic Theatre but the staff at the Indigo can also prepare mocha's or cappuccino's.

Room was ok, nothing special. Clean and colorful. Only disappointment would be that as platinum IHG Members (Holiday Inn/Indigo Brands) we weren't offered a room upgrade. We had a standard room with a view of another rooms portico. Staff was friendly always accommodating whenever we needed anything. If being away for the beaten path and taking a little longer stroll along the Riverwalk to downtown doesn't bother you I would recommend the Indigo, but if the Pearl Brewery area was of no interest to you, I would suggest considering a hotel a few blocks closer to the "tourist" area. FYI - There is an Indigo "Downtown" hotel right across the street from the Alamo.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandidCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your review!! We are so happy to hear that you were truly able to experience everything our hotel has to offer and the location in which we sit. We always recommend our guest walk the river walk at least once throughout their stay with us to experience the serene beauty it has to offer before getting into the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. We are happy you were able to head over to the Pearl Brewery which definitely do have some of the best restaurants. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we certainly hope to see again on your next trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is just ok at best. I saw the pictures online and it looked decent enough and modern. The rooms are not kept up nice- linens are kind of worn and it was not very clean. (There was hair in the sheets and there were dirty footprints and hair in the bathroom)

The location is a 15 minute walk to go to the restaurants and the desirable part of the river walk.

The breakfast was a joke- we sat there for 20 minutes and weren't offered coffee or anything so we just left.

The floors are laminate so when the people above you come in drunk at 3am you can hear every stomp even with the tv on.

There is no valet and the parking lot is small so there was a worry that we wouldn't get a spot at night- we always did, but it was packed!

I would not stay here again. Drury is about the same price, they have happy hour and breakfast included, and an indoor pool for the kids. I would rather stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time out to review our hotel. We constantly strive to provide that top notch service our guest deserve and it seems we may have dropped the ball on this one. We would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay here. It is reviews such as this that inspire and allow us to consistently evaluate our service and give us opportunities to better ourselves for our guest. We understand that you had a choice on where to stay while visiting our beautiful city and we are so happy you chose us. We certainly hope to see you with us on your next trip to give us a chance to truly WOW you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our soccer playing daughter had an unofficial visit at a local college and we took the whole family of seven and made a vacation out of it. We had two rooms for two days. The hotel was beautiful and very well kept. The service staff was wonderfully helpful and efficient. We enjoyed the spacious room the large flat screen TV and the keurig coffee machine. The hotel is on the River Walk and we enjoyed walks to restaurants and the Alamo. We were a little surprised by the parking surcharge but still got a great deal through internet booking site. We hope to return to the Indigo.

Room Tip: Some rooms do face construction sites or rather ugly back alleys.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyWood1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you were staying with us due to a college visit! We will be passing your words onto the rest of our team and we are so happy you chose to stay with us during your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,975 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,132 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $112 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing