We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #54 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, bad location”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I were traveling from Biloxi to San Antonio (9.5 hrs). I had the worst time finding this hotel. Not to mention it was located downtown with nothing but one way streets. Especially after driving for almost ten hours and arriving at 5am all i wanted was to find it, check in and sleep.
Other than not being able to find the hotel, the room was beautiful, updated with modern contemporary style, pet friendly and very clean.Also, they allowed us to do late check out which was a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review! We do apologize for the difficulty finding us. When you get into the downtown area the one way streets due tend to get a bit confusing but ultimately help the flow of traffic. We are so happy to hear that once here on our property our staff was able to accommodate you and your needs to make your trip that much more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    313
    138
    57
    36
See reviews for
237
319
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Indigo Hotel was a wonderful place to stay....the staff were incredibly warm and friendly and the Hotel itself was well kept. The room had a balcony overlooking the River Walk but you are at least a 20 minute walk from all the Riverwalk activity. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel!! We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time while here at our hotel! Our river-view rooms are always in high demand and we are so happy you were able to enjoy one during your stay. We are a bit on the northern end of the river-walk and there are multiple means of transportation to the center of town however we always recommend our guest walk the river-walk at least one to really enjoy the serene and beautiful part of the river-walk before getting into the more populated, busy areas. we certainly hope to see you on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for an extended weekend over Valentine's Day in order to attend a wedding. The day of the wedding I took a small clutch purse and left my work cell phone (Galaxy S3) zipped up in my suitcase. Brought this to the managers attention and they did a review of who entered the room and found that only our keys and housekeeping were used. Someone who steals once will steal again. Housekeeping is not done in teams but individually. No apology from management just questioning as to whether or not I had my phone. I told them I could prove it because I made calls when we first arrived. They said they would look into it. Home now, haven't heard anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dieunn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. We are still investigating the missing cell phone incident. I apologize for the impression that you have of nothing being done. This is never our intention. We always encourage guests to file a police report if ever they feel a crime has been committed. This allows us to continue to cooperate with authorities regarding the matter, even after the guest departs the hotel. We still encourage you to contact SAPD to report this if you have not been able to locate your cell phone. Again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked through United because we got a package deal and it makes sense that this hotel was offering a discount. My husband and I love to walk, but the walk into town goes right past the bus station, which was sketchy at best. Additionally, the hotel room itself was a bit run down and the people running the front desk gave us incorrect info on three separate occasions.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
On behalf of the team here I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay here. It is our goal to consistently provide a service above all others and it seems as though we dropped the ball. We will be passing this information on to the necessary departments to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My family stayed two nights here. It's not very fancy as a so-called boutique hotel but decorated in some interesting Andy Warhol style. Very appealing indeed, We got a spacious room with two queen beds. Everything is fine here! Definitely worth to pick if you'll stay in San Antonio.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joeshiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for such kind words. We are happy you enjoyed the decor of our Hotel. The beauty about Hotel Indigo's is no two are exactly alike. As someone who is appreciative of decor and the look of a hotel we certainly hope you visit many of our other Indigo's on your trip. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back here on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose Creek, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel was very nice and had a very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very spacious and clean. We enjoyed a few drinks at the hotel bar on a couple of evenings and enjoyed wonderful hospitality and service from our bartender, Roxanne. We found the walk to and from our hotel on the Riverwalk to be very nice. We would definitely return again. We loved San Antonio!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy just about every aspect of our hotel! Your wonderful comments about our Bartender will be passed along for all our team to hear. We are glad Roxanne was able to take real good care of you both. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is next to the river but far from the main tourist area. The rooms are not insulated from the noise. You can hear people talking in the hallway and the next room. We had to call the front desk several times about the noise in the hallway. I had my room upgraded to a balcony room facing the river. This was a mistake. Nothing to see but the construction next door. They would start drilling at 700am.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay. It is with reviews such as this that allow us to get that feedback from our guest to truly be able to provide them with the best service possible. We certainly hope to see you back here on your next trip to San Antonio to give us a chance to really wow you. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,056 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
#25 of 356 in San Antonio
2,405 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 356 in San Antonio
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing