We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riverwalk hotel for Families on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #49 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Riverwalk hotel for Families on a budget”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I recently was taking my family to San Antonio. Anyone familiar with San Antonio knows that a "bucket list" item is the Riverwalk. I wanted to stay on the riverwalk but didn't want to spend the $150-$300 a night. So, I was psyched when I found the Hotel Indigo at $90 a night(with parking included). Now granted this was January, so this must be off-season pricing.

Initial impressions:
upon arrival, I was not wowed by the location or the front door aesthetics, but it was clean, neat, and maintained. Parking was very convenient as it was in a parking lot just across the street. When we got into the room (double queen, non-suite), I was impressed by the size and spacious feel of the room. The view was not much to speak of as our room was not one that over looked the river.

I quickly realized I had chosen the right hotel for a family.

Beds were very comfy, amenities were satisfactory. I found it odd that the room had a fridge, but no microwave. My experience is that you usually have a room with both or none.

On balance, I was very happy with my stay and would stay again. I would recommend for families or folks attending a conference. I am a seasoned business traveler too and I don't think this would be my first choice.

The only downside is the location. While it technically is on the Riverwalk, it's quite a walk from the hub of activity. This hub is also referred to as the "horseshoe" (close to the River Center Mall). If you want to get to the Alamo or the horseshoe you can either walk about 1/2 mile through the city (don't do this at night) or walk about 3/4 miles via the riverwalk. Of course, there are cabs and the "water taxi" too.

It's worth mentioning that if you do have a car, all the usual fast-food joints are about a 5 min drive away. As well as a Walgreens. (this is good intel to have when traveling with a family).

Room Tip: My room was street side and there was no great view to speak of except that - the street. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oneconnexions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on our Hotel! We are pleased to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy yourselves throughout your stay here. We certainly are happy to hear that you were able to experience all that the hotel and Riverwalk have to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next family trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    313
    138
    57
    36
See reviews for
237
319
24
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January 2014. It was excellent. It was easy to park and unload our things, check in and park again. Parking is right across the street. This hotel is very pretty with lots of color. The rooms are huge and very attractive. There is a large bathroom with two sinks. No tub. Service is excellent also.

The gym is basically treadmills and one other machine. Small. It was perfect for me, but my husband likes a full gym.

I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and we had a nice view of the riverwalk. The hotel is located just far enough so you don't hear all the street noise. The riverwalk boat pick you up and drop you off right at the hotel. The showers are nice and the ceiling is tall. The remote to the tv needed a new battery, other than that, it was a pleasant experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Riverwalk, especially if you go during the Christmas holiday. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! Its so good to hear that you were able to utilize most of what the hotel has to offer. The river taxi ride into town is definitely a wonderful way to enjoy the beauty of the San Antonio Riverwalk. It's nice to see the contrast between the more serene area of the Riverwalk to the busier area. Thank you so much for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Got this reservation through a groupon, so for the price everything was fine. Although it is technically on the riverwalk, it is some distance from the main attractions. The parking does not seem very secure and the area immediately surrounding the hotel leaves much to be desired. Once inside the hotel the staff were very friendly and the room was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyranicalsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel. We are between the Museum Reach and Center of downtown but we always recommend our guest walk the River to be able to take in the beauty and surroundings of the River before heading into the hustle and bustle of the center of downtown. We certainly hope to see you in our hotel again to truly wow you. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel down on the river. It was very pleasant sitting out on the terrace eating dinner and then strolling along the river. The staff were friendly although a little lacking in some areas. Good value and great location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabeee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Things I liked about Indigo Riverwalk:
Location: Right on the beautiful Riverwalk which leads you into the charming old town, Alamo, and theaters, where we say a production of the Nutcracker.
Rooms: Very stylish, large, very comfortable.
Amenities: Nice lobby, bar and restaurant area.
Staff: Very friendly.
What I didn't like: Noisy room opposite the ladies' public bathroom. I would stay there again, but be more astute and make sure not to take a room off the main lobby.

Room Tip: Stay away from the grouund-floor room opposite public toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jingles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We love this place. The staff has been there a long time and they are very friendly. They always know us by name.The pricing is fantastic. The location is perfect. Its just far enough away front the touristy areas to enjoy at your own place. The lobby bar is laid back to watch monday night football and the food is bar food, and its good. the patio is very cool and right on the river walk. it feels european or like something in new orleans. great character outside and on the river walk. we really enjoy this place and will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 355 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
#26 of 355 in San Antonio
2,391 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,171 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing