We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights this week. Very clean. Comfortable rooms. Room had laminate floor, no carpet. Only draw back is neighborhood. You have to walk a bit to get to the good part of the Riverwalk. Great mattress but cheap hotel pillows. Good value for price though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    287
    121
    45
    31
See reviews for
211
278
24
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in late September, the room was spacious including a kitchenette. Comfy beds. The location was a little bit out of the main area of San Antonio. We’d walked the Riverwalk to the main area, about 15-20min walk, would be quicker walking on the streets, but the area wasn’t all that great to walk though. Parking Lot is across the street, and fills up on a evening. No complimentary breakfast, but wouldn’t hesitate to try another Indigo hotel in another city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for four days. I can say that I will be going back again. The hotel was clean, conformable, the rooms are spacious and very well equipped. The bartender and front desk were very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We do hope to see you back with us on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent a week at this property on business in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed. The location is on the Riverwalk; not the busiest part of the Riverwalk, but still a nice spot. Most restaurants on the Riverwalk were a 10 minute walk; there were a couple good ones, however, that were closer (Ocho in the Hotel Havana for instance). The rooms in the hotel were modern and large with high ceilings. The mattress was excellent and the HVAC kept the room nice and cool. There is a Keurig machine with complimentary k cups in the room and a small fridge. Parking is tricky in downtown, but I was always able to find a space in the hotel's lot directly across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the ice machines are rather noisy, so it might be best to avoid a room next to the machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m10er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. enterprise texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the last several years and I have to say this hotel has the nicest staff I have ever encountered. This hotel is one of the cleanest as well. The décor is very modern and rooms are very large. The beds are super comfortable and the décor in rooms also quite modern...if you enjoy your morning coffee they even has kerig coffee makers in every room. I can't think of any negative except maybe the location is pretty far from all the main attractions and water taxi only comes by every 30 minutes. We ended up walking to the market area to eat and it was a long walk and we were pretty sweaty by the time we got there. If we go back I will try to get a little closer to the market area, but if you prefer quite then stay here!!! I would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel on N. St. Marys was a huge surprise. It was convenient (right off both I-35 and 281, and backed up to the river), spotless and freshly redone. Our room was spacious and had upgraded amenities. Service in the eating area was slow but the waiter was great. We would definitely stay there again. Oh yeah, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Angel, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

So enjoyed our stay here for two nights. The hotel is crisp, clean and modern. Accommodations were roomy and extremely comfortable with great mattresses on the beds and scads of pillows. Quiet, too. Loved the Keurig coffeemaker in the room - a cup of coffee first thing is always welcome. Bathroom had nice soft towels, Aveda products and a terrific shower. The location right on the Riverwalk was fantastic and it was a joy to sit on the back patio and enjoy the day or evening. The staff could not have been more professional, personable and helpful especially Ramon and others whose name I missed. My only slight criticism would be the salad I ate for dinner - shrimp and avocado - 3 smallish shrimp and 3 thin avocado slices were a little skimpy for a dinner. But still "excellent!"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words!!! We are constantly striving to provide the best service to fit each and every one of our guest. We are so pleased to hear that Ramon made you feel comfortable and taken care of while you stayed with us! Please visit us again on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#24 of 359 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 359 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 359 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing