We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #59 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We flew in just to see the Alamo before we set off for separate destinations.Four gals in one room and it worked. One of us had a Groupon for this and are we glad. What a find! The staff was the friendliest and most accommodating. They even walked us over to a nearby restaurant and gave us a tour. The room was great too with a balcony overlooking the pool and River Walk. Parking was across the street but an easy walk. Very clean and comfortable. A bit too far from the Alamo for us to walk (could have got there but getting back might be too tiring.) I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We weren't in the room much. Our room overlooked the pool and that's the non-street side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadisePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 908 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I've always enjoyed my stays at Indigo and this was another excellent property. It is located on the Riverwalk, however it is definitely off the beaten path. If you like walking and you enjoy a quiet atmosphere this is for you.

My room was a little small but I know there are bigger. I usually get upgraded but the executive suites were booked up. The walls were a bit dirty but that was the only thing I noticed in terms of cleanliness.

The customer service was exceptional. Everyone was overly nice. I believe his name was Michael at the front desk, give the guy a promo! Even the bartenders and bistro area employees were very nice.

Beautiful grounds, great service and nice rooms. Book it if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is a bit further than .8 mile of a walk. Ive read on other reviews stqying closer to the middle of riverwalk can be noisey but this was a little further than expected. The rooms were clean & cozy. There arent any microwaves in the rooms which was inconvenient having to go up front to use the microwave. The bar does not open till 4 which also means don't count on having a bloody Mary in the morning. Very nice & helpful staff. Got to check in an hour early.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if available or a patio to sit on..didnt know that was available but the patio was ni...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found the deal on zozi.com and were not disappointed which included parking and breakfast. We were aware it was not that close to the busy end of the riverwalk, since we had a car it was not an issue. We actually spent more time on the south side checking out the King William district. The down side was the service which after checking in went downhill. We went to have a drink after dinner downstairs and were never served. We ended up leaving and having a drink in our room. I understand he was busy that night, but with many other choices on the riverwalk you might want to stay elsewhere. The breakfast was great, but we couldn't get served there either. We finally had to flag someone down. We would stay again, but might eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear bmokry,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This Hotel Indigo is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Riverwalk so if you want quiet, this is the place. If you want the excitement of the Riverwalk, you are a bit of a hike away. We rode the water taxi, but be warned, you are on the far end of the taxi loop. This Hotel Indigo had the modern decor you are used to from this chain but this hotel was not a plush as others in the chain I have experienced. Our room was nice and very spacious. Plenty of room, plush bed and linens. The room had laminate floor which made it a bit noisy and it did not have a cozy feel. Also, our bathroom was dirty around the edges, the tile, the corners, the bathroom was not very appealing. The traffic noise of the hall traveled straight into our room and because of the laminate floor every step taken above us or item dropped was heard loudly by us below. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If I returned to San Antonio, I would probably not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsh031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand having a comfortable room is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location to Visit the Alamo & enjoy the fantastic San Antonio Riverwalk.
Shopping centre, restaurants & entertainment are all only a few minutes walk away. Staff were good & very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozmuzziemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a relaxing weekend here. I was a little concerned that it was on the Riverwalk, but once we arrived, I knew it was going to be great. It's located about a 10-15 minute walk (1.5-2 miles by foot (developed walkway); a few minutes by River Taxi) from all the madness of the touristy restaurant and shop area in a nice little quiet section of the river. I ran in the morning, and it was one of the nicest runs I've had in this city. The Riverwalk is beautiful in the early morning. The hotel has a nice restaurant/bar area inside, and a lovely outdoor porch/terrace area where you can enjoy a meal, drinks, dessert, or quiet conversation. The pool is nicely situated to one side of the terrace area. The two reasons I didn't give it five stars: 1) they could do a little something with the parking area; it just doesn't give me a warm fuzzy. If it were gated or had a guard house with 24-hour surveillance, I'd feel a lot better about parking my car there. That little section of downtown is suffering from urban blight, and although that is not the fault of the hotel, I feel like it is the responsibility of the hotel to safeguard their guest's property as much as possible, and 2) the terrace bar area speakers are too loud and can be heard in the rooms overlooking the river if you are an "early to bed" person - meaning 10pm. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is the one to have. The outdoor bar can be a little noisy from 10p-midn...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MovinLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please ensure that we do take the safety of our guest serious. We do have security that does patrol the parking lot and property. We have also have made corrections to ensure that the music on the patio is fixed. Thank you once again for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,975 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,132 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $112 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing