We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Fantastic Customer Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #51 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Fantastic Customer Service.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I've always enjoyed my stays at Indigo and this was another excellent property. It is located on the Riverwalk, however it is definitely off the beaten path. If you like walking and you enjoy a quiet atmosphere this is for you.

My room was a little small but I know there are bigger. I usually get upgraded but the executive suites were booked up. The walls were a bit dirty but that was the only thing I noticed in terms of cleanliness.

The customer service was exceptional. Everyone was overly nice. I believe his name was Michael at the front desk, give the guy a promo! Even the bartenders and bistro area employees were very nice.

Beautiful grounds, great service and nice rooms. Book it if you can.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    312
    134
    56
    36
See reviews for
231
317
24
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
desoto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is a bit further than .8 mile of a walk. Ive read on other reviews stqying closer to the middle of riverwalk can be noisey but this was a little further than expected. The rooms were clean & cozy. There arent any microwaves in the rooms which was inconvenient having to go up front to use the microwave. The bar does not open till 4 which also means don't count on having a bloody Mary in the morning. Very nice & helpful staff. Got to check in an hour early.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if available or a patio to sit on..didnt know that was available but the patio was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found the deal on zozi.com and were not disappointed which included parking and breakfast. We were aware it was not that close to the busy end of the riverwalk, since we had a car it was not an issue. We actually spent more time on the south side checking out the King William district. The down side was the service which after checking in went downhill. We went to have a drink after dinner downstairs and were never served. We ended up leaving and having a drink in our room. I understand he was busy that night, but with many other choices on the riverwalk you might want to stay elsewhere. The breakfast was great, but we couldn't get served there either. We finally had to flag someone down. We would stay again, but might eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear bmokry,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This Hotel Indigo is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the Riverwalk so if you want quiet, this is the place. If you want the excitement of the Riverwalk, you are a bit of a hike away. We rode the water taxi, but be warned, you are on the far end of the taxi loop. This Hotel Indigo had the modern decor you are used to from this chain but this hotel was not a plush as others in the chain I have experienced. Our room was nice and very spacious. Plenty of room, plush bed and linens. The room had laminate floor which made it a bit noisy and it did not have a cozy feel. Also, our bathroom was dirty around the edges, the tile, the corners, the bathroom was not very appealing. The traffic noise of the hall traveled straight into our room and because of the laminate floor every step taken above us or item dropped was heard loudly by us below. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If I returned to San Antonio, I would probably not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsh031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand having a comfortable room is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location to Visit the Alamo & enjoy the fantastic San Antonio Riverwalk.
Shopping centre, restaurants & entertainment are all only a few minutes walk away. Staff were good & very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmuzziemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a relaxing weekend here. I was a little concerned that it was on the Riverwalk, but once we arrived, I knew it was going to be great. It's located about a 10-15 minute walk (1.5-2 miles by foot (developed walkway); a few minutes by River Taxi) from all the madness of the touristy restaurant and shop area in a nice little quiet section of the river. I ran in the morning, and it was one of the nicest runs I've had in this city. The Riverwalk is beautiful in the early morning. The hotel has a nice restaurant/bar area inside, and a lovely outdoor porch/terrace area where you can enjoy a meal, drinks, dessert, or quiet conversation. The pool is nicely situated to one side of the terrace area. The two reasons I didn't give it five stars: 1) they could do a little something with the parking area; it just doesn't give me a warm fuzzy. If it were gated or had a guard house with 24-hour surveillance, I'd feel a lot better about parking my car there. That little section of downtown is suffering from urban blight, and although that is not the fault of the hotel, I feel like it is the responsibility of the hotel to safeguard their guest's property as much as possible, and 2) the terrace bar area speakers are too loud and can be heard in the rooms overlooking the river if you are an "early to bed" person - meaning 10pm. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is the one to have. The outdoor bar can be a little noisy from 10p-midn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MovinLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please ensure that we do take the safety of our guest serious. We do have security that does patrol the parking lot and property. We have also have made corrections to ensure that the music on the patio is fixed. Thank you once again for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Loved the hotel. Good location on the river, only a 5-10 walk to riverwalk restaurants and attractions. Also, easily accessible to trolleys and riverboat taxis in case your not a walker. The staff was very friendly, especially Alex, at the front desk. I didn't like that no one knew where eateries were or any local favorites or directions to places. The staff was very friendly, but could be a little more knowledgeable of the city. I also didn't care for the balcony, it's not private, no late night romance. The balconies only either side of you are only separated by a metal see through partition, not a wall. The hotel is very clean and room was very spacious. We traveled during the week so it was quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a totally private balcony, they have a few but you have to ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
1,099 reviews
Menger Hotel
#26 of 355 in San Antonio
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing