We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Business Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #55 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was in town for a short business trip 12/4-12/5 and stayed with some colleagues and my sister. The room (347) was clean and beautiful as was the bathroom. The beds and pillows were like fluffy clouds. There is a Keurig in the room along with a small fridge. We had a view of the Riverwalk and the pool. There was construction going on but I was not bothered by it. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly and professional - Raymond, Eric, Aprille and a young lady at the front desk in the evening who's name I didn't get. Eric helped my sister with her WiFi connection and we had a pleasant conversation with him. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the main part of the Riverwalk. It was a relaxing and scenic walk. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - made to order omelet with potatoes. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It was wonderful to hear about your stay. I am so happy our staff took great care of you. They are truly the heart and soul of our hotel. Please be sure to come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    303
    128
    52
    35
See reviews for
222
301
24
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were passing thru town and found this hotel listed on a last minute booking site. The price and location were perfect. The man at the desk helped to make sure our booking went thru and was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, roomy and modern. Being on the river walk is really nice. Very safe and lots of restaurants and bars. We did have breakfast. The service was fine and the food was average hotel food. The parking is across the street and guarded at night. We would stay at another Hotel Indigo in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne4066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Great to hear about your stay. Glad you enjoyed the amenities. With over 30 Hotel Indigos to choose from, hoping we will stay your favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my first experience at an Indigo Hotel. The people I was going to be working with in San Antonio recommended it, so I decided to give it a try and I was very pleased. The clean, minimalistic and modern design was very attractive. Hard wood floors in the guest rooms -- very nice! The hotel was extremely comfortable and catered to business travelers very well.

The staff (front desk and bar) could have been better. They did their jobs adequately, but only that. They hardly went out of their way to make a guest feel welcome. They simply did their jobs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Indigo in October 2012 for 3 nights.The room was extremely spacious however the bathroom and the shower was in a terrible,out of date state. We were rather disappointed in the evening receptionist's behaviour; she made us feel like she is doing us a favour by checking us in and assisting us.Anyway, the location of the hotel is quite ok;it;s about 20 minutes walk away from the centre,on the Riverwalk. As it has already been mentioned,there is a car park across the road for a $13/day charge.WIth regards to the hotel restaurants, we did not actually eat at the hotel.Based on previous reviews we decided not to;instead we ate out on the Riverwalk;lots of nice restaurants to choose from with a beautiful view.
Shame about the poor customer service; I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Indigo Nov 9 thru 12 and were very happy with our room (huge and clean), the hotel staff (courteous and helpful), and the location (right on the Riverwalk). The only two things that we would want people to know is that the parking is across the street from the hotel. It is an extra $13.00 per night. There are a few handicap spaces in the front courtyard if you need them, but you will still pay the parking fee. The only other downside is that the access to the Riverwalk is down a long flight of exterior stairs. There is no flat walk out or elevator access to the Riverwalk and if you have trouble climbing stairs or you are wheelchair bound, you will not be able to access the Riverwalk from the hotel. That being said, we will probably stay at the Indigo next time we're in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo Riverwalk in San Antonio for a TPTA Conference October 26 - 28, 2012. My group and I had a fantastic time. The hotel had easy access to the Riverwalk either by foot or river taxi. I had a balcony room overlooking the river, it was great. The rooms were clean & well decorated, and very quiet. Nice flat screen TV's. The restaurant was excellent. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semperfiaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I received a handicapped and durty room, with stain on sheets and hair on the floor. The shower couldn't be used by tallers persons like my hysband and I.
A little bit far from the restaurants and all the cool zone. The clients had to wait a lot for breakfast. They had only 2 fews waitress for all the customers.
A bad experience that I don't recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room in front the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I’ve reviewed your comments in detail with our staff. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We will be reviewing your comments with our department heads to ensure these issues don’t occur again. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing