We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #58 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for 3 months, the guys at the front desk (Alex & Mel) by my second visit they already knew my name. At the restaurant & bar ( Ryan, Patrick) they are awsome! They are very attentive to their customers!
They have VERY!! Big comfortable Rooms. Haven't had any bad experience with these guys!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your great feed back. We are glad to see that they all took great care of you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 928 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a nicely appointed hotel with helpful front desk personnel, however it is way too far from the Riverwalk shops and restaurants. Ok if you want to use the water taxi, but that is $15 per person for a 24 hour pass. I would suggest staying near the river loop, but perhaps not on the Riverwalk for a better experience at around the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony large enough for chairs. We had no balcony, but our son had a very large, covered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didi0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Love the modern decor. Rooms are clean and spacious. Patio is nice and relaxing. Pool is clean and is a desent size. Hotel is located on the riverwalk but is a far walk if you want to see the main attractions and restaurants on the main part of riverwalk. Walking on the streets is much shorter. The only thing I didn't like is no free breakfast. Although the hot breakfast I ordered was delicious and was a good portion.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoSlp4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant. Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am very disgusted with the service of some of the staff that work at this hotel my sister in law came to visit and stayed at this hotel and she receive poor service all the way around starting with the front desk staff a guy by the name of Alex checked us in and when we asked him about parking in the handicapped section of the hotel he was rude and very inconsiderate, I felt very offended because he said that if my in law didn't have a parking decal she couldn't park in handicapped parking and we would have to park across the street. When we checked in and got settled we decided not to go anywhere out to eat and wanted to dine in so we went to the resturant and we were greeted by two men one which seemed very arrogant and into himself and his name was Matt the other man's name was James he seemed to be very down to earth and easy going we really enjoyed him but what really made my dining experience a not so pleasant one was the fact the person in charge of the dining room was not attentive to satifying his guest because he was so busy flirting with younger women and making very lude and crude comments about taking women out to drink and wanting them to come back to his room, I have never felt so out of place it was as if I were in a sex shop and I was going to be hit on next. I also felt that he was rude in speaking in spanish to housekeepers when they walked through the resturant grabbing something to drink, I had no idea this place would be so full of rude people and me being just moved here I heard this place was a nice relaxing place to stay but I must say the General Manager of this hotel must let everyone do what they want and not take action for any wrong doings, if I have learned anything from this visit while my family visited here that I will never come back and anyone I know who ask me what hotel to stay at this one will not be on my list at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmartin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We truly do apologize for the experience you had with us. That is not the typical stay our guests have. Please be assured that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments to ensure this has been corrected. We hope you do try us again to show you our genuine charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Loved the decor of this hotel and check-in went well with a friendly staff member. The king bed room was very nice when you first look at it. Nice bed, decent size room, love the wood-like floor and Keurig coffee maker.

Dinner was interesting in their restaurant. No one else there (It was a Saturday night), just wait staff eating at the counter. James was very nice, personable and doing the best he could with what they had. Shrimp appetizer was excellent, not over cooked like so many other places. The rib eye steak is hardily Texan as it was small, but I didn't expect much for a $15 steak. It was cooked properly, and the garlic mashed potatoes were good, along with the vegetables.

Upon going to sleep that night we found the dead bolt would not work. We did the cross bar lock and put furniture in front of the door. Unfortunately sleep was a challenge in the room. Walls seem to be thin so can hear others in rooms adjacent. But the worst thing was a dripping shower head. Not all the time, so it must have been triggered by various water pressures.

We also noticed mold in the upper corner of the shower and robe hanger on bathroom door was broke.

The next morning, breakfast was a disaster. Service was terrible. Looked like only two women there to wait on tables and they looked unhappy. There were only 3 other table besides ours for maybe a total of 10 people. When the woman finally came over to us, I ordered milk. She went over to the self serve counter by the cash register and got me a plastic bottle of milk and brought it back to me. No glass. I ordered their "red eye gravy, biscuits and sausage" with two eggs over easy. I was informed that they do not do eggs over easy, only scrambled. This puzzled me until I was told that their eggs are all powdered. What?? I canceled the eggs and just did the biscuits, gravy and sausage. To my dismay somewhat later I notice the "chef" come from out of the kitchen with a bowl stirring something. He walks up and down the counter area, talking briefly with the staff, and then goes to the coffee machine at the cash register and squirts coffee into the mixture. I realized this was my gravy and he was walking around with no care to what was to be my food. When it was finally served to me, I had two biscuits with a tablespoon of gravy spread on top of the biscuits and the sausage was some over processed link that was so overcooked it was hard on the edges. It was disgusting. I would have complained but the two women were running back and forth between the other tables and I had gotten the impression they did not care. We just got out of there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that the Front Desk staff took good care of you with your king bed room. Your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate Department Managers to ensure issues like these are corrected. We do apologize and hope you come and enjoy us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This property is lovely! A small boutique hotel right on a quite section of the Riverwalk, but still close to everything. Our room was quite small but still well-appointed for the price.
What made our experience a poor one was the employees. From the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the serving staff....no one smiled. Not once!!! None of them look like they enjoy their job...everyone looked pained to be there. The front desk employees spoke as tho' on script. The housekeepers never made eye contact or even acknowledged your presence. The serving staff was particularly brutal. On the two mornings I came down for breakfast, two different servers did not know how to make the specialty coffees that were advertised. Both claimed they hadn't been trained by their manager. One had a pained expression and actually said as she was serving my food "sorry I really not feeling good today"! Brilliant! Just what everyone wants to hear from the person serving their food.
I even invited the front desk manager to sit with me while I explained to him how this hotel could be really amazing if only the employees could get motivated to deliver great service. He nodded and even agreed and promised to pass along comments to the general manager. But no apology was given!!
My guess is that the management at this property does not make a positive atmosphere for employees and consequently guests suffer . My advice...wake up and smell the coffee (which won't be a latte because no one knows how to make one)!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Rosiegirl2,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review with so many great tips for our hotel. I am glad to see that you commented on what you enjoyed about the hotel as well as what fell below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. Your tips and comments will be shared with the appropriate departments for consideration. We always welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall excellent place to stay if you are looking for somewhere nice on the Riverwalk. Friendly environment and great staff and bartender. The bartender Patrick is very talented and friendly, and went out of his way to find out exactly what we wanted. Over all great stay. Will definitely be coming back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boyka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is great to hear that Patrick took good care of you, as well as our other staff members. We hope you see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,157 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,033 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,207 reviews
Menger Hotel
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $111 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing