We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a Balcony Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #52 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Indigo chain seems to always deliver the "un-hotel" experience -- a unique stay at Holiday Inn prices. This property is on the San Antonio Riverwalk, literally, but about a mile from the heart of the city and Convention Center. The walk was easy, either on the streets, or following the Riverwalk all the way, which is a very pleasant walk. When I checked in I was given a balcony room, which had a very large covered porch, with four large upholstered chairs, looking over the river. What a pleasant setting. The room was very large and well appointed with gourmet coffee maker, comfortable beds and flat screen TV. The only criticism is that the room was not pristinely clean -- some dirty baseboards in the corners and the bathroom could have used a more thorough cleaning. The restaurant menu was minimal, so I would not count on a full meal there, but the atmostphere was light and pleasant. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBSTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 942 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

love the decor and atmosphere of this hotel. staff were friendly, bar was nice and relaxing. The hotel its self if rather far down the Riverwalk from the main hussel and bussel; however the stretch of riverwalk is beautiful there. There isn't much to see in this area. the neighborhood is rather slumish lots of homeless people, do not recommend leaving after dark. we went for a drive around and we were told to get outta this "hood" at the near by gas station. This place was a definite experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deener07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great hotel with charming decorations. It's a little far away from all the action on the Riverwalk though. I'm talking. . .several miles it seemed we walked. . .and walked . . . and walked. I would recommend any of the Indigo Hotels, they are all amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Location is not great. It's kind of in the ghetto :(. The hotel itself is decorated nicely. We had dinner at the hotel cafe which was very good and the waiter was awesome. The room was decorated nice and the bed was great! But....there was a hair in the freshly laundered and rolled up towel in the bathroom :(. And.....although the Kuerig Coffee Por was nice, your coffee choice was one single caffeinated and one single decafeinated, so don't think you and hubby are BOTH getting your caffeine fix in the morning lol! Oh, and I almost forgot, there is a beautiful fountain out front of the hotel! Too bad it is nonfunctional and drained :(

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Great drinks from the bar. However, the restaurant downstairs runs off a microwave ...no grill. Have to pay $13 per day for parking which is across the street from the hotel and when it's raining as it was when I was there, not a good move!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyKosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Indigo Riverwalk in December, so the Texas Christmas cheer was everwhere! We walked down the Riverwalk beneath the beautiful holiday lights and enjoyed the festive energy. The rooms were fabulously decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The Phi Burger in the restaurant was excellent. We were welcomed by the general manager, Eric who made us feel right at home. A great San Antonio option if you're looking for a cozy upscale boutique walking distance to fun activities.

Room Tip: As for a Riverwalk view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DazzlinSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Indigo Hotel on the Riverwalk is a great place to stay in San Antonio. It is close enough to walk to downtown without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. Even walking back late at night, I felt safe. The staff was great, especially Melanie who was extremely helpful with directions and dining recommendations. Rooms were very clean and well kept. My only complaint is that the restaurant in the lobby has quick food to go but it is way too expensive. There is place called Lulu's that is a couple of blocks away. It's open 24 hours and serves breakfast until 11am. If you go, go hungry b/c the food is plentiful (especially the 3# cinnamon rolls!). All in all, I would highly recommend the Indigo Hotel Riverwalk (not to be confused with the one at the Alamo).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lldoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,185 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,664 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#66 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $106 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing