We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, mediocre hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Antonian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Antonian
Ranked #236 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, mediocre hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel's appearance leaves a bit to be desired. The exterior seems grubby, the lobby and the elevators have a bit of an odor. The carpet in the room is in bad shape as well. That said, the furnishings in the room are adequate, and the bathroom is spotless.

This hotel's location is well located, and you can get downtown in minutes if you drive. That's the one thing this hotel has going for it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    8
    9
    30
See reviews for
21
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a nice place! Clean and well maintained. We had great customer service from the staff and had no complaints with anything. Our room was nice and clean and i was especially impressed with the bathroom cleanliness - and I'm really particular! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDonJones, PR Associate at The Antonian, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks. We appreciate your comments and look forward to serving your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I liked staying here. It was quant. I like the flowers everywhere. The staff was nice. The rooms were nice. My husband and I had a glass of wine in the garden after we went out for dinner. it was so sweet. The room was clean.

Room Tip: The best views of the city on on the front up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDonJones, PR Associate at The Antonian, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments. If we can do anything to improve our service to you, your friends, or family, we welcome the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading the reviews, I had to check and see if it was the same hotel. I have spent many nights here after Spurs games. I will be the first to say it is not 5 diamond, however, it is clean, quiet and safe. I have never had any bugs, or rudeness. Sometimes, I think if there is the least little thing, people will make a huge deal of it. Guess you can't please everyone. We just shower and sleep here, probably not the place to go for a full "resort style vacation" (however, the pool is nice) but for a night or two stop over it was just fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCntex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDonJones, PR Associate at The Antonian, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We try to make our hotel a warm and welcoming environment and welcome any suggestions to make you future stays more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is horrible!! I would never recommend anyone to go here EVER!! It smelled there was cats everywhere!! The showers were disgusting!! The people in the front were rude even when you complain the front manager was the same!!! Not worth it! I rather of paid a little extra and have gotten a nicer hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDonJones, PR Associate at The Antonian, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
While we welcome you comments, they are very general and make reference to some things over which we have no control. Cats, for example. San Antonio's Historic neighborhoods, including Government Hill (the National Register of Historical Places designation for our neighborhood). We have found the City supports feral cat communities because they are a natural control for vermin, and we prefer the cats to the alternative. Unfortunately, if you have the same experience as I have, they sometimes leave little paw prints all over your car. I am not sure what you found to be disgusting in our showers, but they are actually quite clean and of good quality, and not very old. Of there was a housekeeping issue we will gladly address any such matter when we are apprised of the situation. Our staff is not usually rude, but some people interpret an inability to immediately address a concern as rudeness. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Many others find our location convenient, our facilities clean and adequate, and our value excellent, especially since you get a great room for less than you would pay just a few hundred yards away, and with free parking, which is often $20 a night at other hotels. Our proximity to the newly developed Pearl Complex is a great asset if you have business or leisure plans for that location,and the Museum Reach of the River Walk is a mere 10 blocks from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I selected this hotel because of the general proximity to the airport for an early morning (really, really early!) flight. It was a great choice! The hotel is clean, updated, serves a hot breakfast (which I missed because of my early flight), and a really nicely landscaped pool and patio area.

I messed up my reservation by one day, but the hotel staff (Anthony, think) was very polite, helpful, and efficient. I will be back to Texas a lot because I have a new granddaughter in Corpus. Flight costs are best in/out of San Antonio. I will absolutely stay at the Antonian on future trips to ease the outbound flight process.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well located, with easy access to the interstate and attractions, less than five minutes to the Alamo.
We stayed thee nights, the room was good, the rate was very good and the front desk was also very helpfull.
Breakfast was not up to much.
The hotel was a bit grubby in places but our room was very clean.
Would be more than happy to return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown Northeast
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#165 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
#212 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Passport Inn San Antonio
Passport Inn San Antonio
#171 of 357 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Near at&T Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Antonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antonian

Property: The Antonian
Address: 2131 North I-35, San Antonio, TX 78208
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Antonian 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
The Antonian Hotel San Antonio
Antonian Hotel San Antonio
Antonian San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing