We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“HORRIBLE!! DON'T GO HERE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Antonian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Antonian
Ranked #225 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“HORRIBLE!! DON'T GO HERE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is horrible!! I would never recommend anyone to go here EVER!! It smelled there was cats everywhere!! The showers were disgusting!! The people in the front were rude even when you complain the front manager was the same!!! Not worth it! I rather of paid a little extra and have gotten a nicer hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDonJones, PR Associate at The Antonian, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
While we welcome you comments, they are very general and make reference to some things over which we have no control. Cats, for example. San Antonio's Historic neighborhoods, including Government Hill (the National Register of Historical Places designation for our neighborhood). We have found the City supports feral cat communities because they are a natural control for vermin, and we prefer the cats to the alternative. Unfortunately, if you have the same experience as I have, they sometimes leave little paw prints all over your car. I am not sure what you found to be disgusting in our showers, but they are actually quite clean and of good quality, and not very old. Of there was a housekeeping issue we will gladly address any such matter when we are apprised of the situation. Our staff is not usually rude, but some people interpret an inability to immediately address a concern as rudeness. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Many others find our location convenient, our facilities clean and adequate, and our value excellent, especially since you get a great room for less than you would pay just a few hundred yards away, and with free parking, which is often $20 a night at other hotels. Our proximity to the newly developed Pearl Complex is a great asset if you have business or leisure plans for that location,and the Museum Reach of the River Walk is a mere 10 blocks from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    8
    9
    30
See reviews for
21
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I selected this hotel because of the general proximity to the airport for an early morning (really, really early!) flight. It was a great choice! The hotel is clean, updated, serves a hot breakfast (which I missed because of my early flight), and a really nicely landscaped pool and patio area.

I messed up my reservation by one day, but the hotel staff (Anthony, think) was very polite, helpful, and efficient. I will be back to Texas a lot because I have a new granddaughter in Corpus. Flight costs are best in/out of San Antonio. I will absolutely stay at the Antonian on future trips to ease the outbound flight process.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well located, with easy access to the interstate and attractions, less than five minutes to the Alamo.
We stayed thee nights, the room was good, the rate was very good and the front desk was also very helpfull.
Breakfast was not up to much.
The hotel was a bit grubby in places but our room was very clean.
Would be more than happy to return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Do not stay here!! Worse experience of my life!! I never write reviews but after the experience I had with this hotel this morning I definitely wanted to do this!! Walking into my crappy room there were BEETLES & COCKROACHES everywhere! Dead & alive!! We walked right back downstairs to get our refund and the staff was terrible! They kept saying that it's COMMON for that to happen! NO ITS NOT! I literally had to get in a huge argument with the manager and she still didn't do anything! The only reason I got my refund is because I booked through Booking.com and they had to personally call & complain and threaten to lose their business for them! The "manager" SOFIA is super unprofessional! And I hope she reads this!! DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JGS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Lubbock
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Good service. Good price. Good water pressure. Good lots of pillows. Good hot water. Bad smell in room. Bad smell in bathroom. Bad ac unit. Bad small pool. Bad old carpet. Bad old tv. Bad old blankets.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavarroEst2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed there to be close to my son's base Fort Sam Houston. Was located right off freeway exit before base exit. Took just minutes to get the downtown SA. Room was clean, staff very helpful & friendly. Dining places within walking distance. Hotel older in need of some cosmetic repair, but was very clean. Most comfy beds with wonderful fluffy pillows 4 on each bed. Will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunniV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I thought this was a great deal considering the proximity to river walk and booked online looking at the photos that seemed very nice.
Reality is very different. It is a weird area and certainly not for family travel. Right from the moment you step into the lobby, you will sense a weird smell. I felt very dejected and tried to see if I can cancel, but was told that it was non refundable booking. Reluctantly, we thought we'd give it a try and went up. Room was slightly better than the lobby, but the restroom felt crammed and still a weird smell (like an old place). We ended up leaving the hotel in an hour and never looked back.
Spend the extra 30-40 to get a better room and save embarrassment in front of your family.
Most likely you are looking to have fun in the city and this is not where you want to be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown Northeast
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#166 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Rivercenter Area
2.9 mi away
Passport Inn San Antonio
Passport Inn San Antonio
#174 of 357 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
#233 of 357 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio Near at&T Center
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites San Antonio Near Fort Sam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Antonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antonian

Property: The Antonian
Address: 2131 North I-35, San Antonio, TX 78208
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Antonian 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Antonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Antonian Hotel San Antonio
Antonian Hotel San Antonio
Antonian San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing