We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #33 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“almost like home”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The room was large and clean, TV swiveled between living room and bed, kitchenette was well equipped, bed comfortable. Breakfast excellent (hot and cold items) and it was included. Staff was caring, friendly and attentive to all needs. Convention centre was a 10 minute walk away and Rivercentre Mall and River Walk about 5 minutes walk.

Felt safe during day and early evening walking alone - female traveller. At night I took a cab back but if I was with a group or my spouse, wouldn't have been a problem to walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louchaboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    183
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
224
92
22
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jerseybum1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I had the pleasure of spending 3 and a half months at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza in downtown San Antonio. As far as service is concerned, I've stayed at 5 star hotels and been on expensive cruises where the service didn't come close. All the staff consistently go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying you're stay and that you have everything you need. The few times I decided to forego maid service they almost seemed upset they wouldn't get to clean my room that day. Don't get me wrong it's still a chain hotel and nothing very lux but I was overall very impressed with the staff.

Breakfast every day is nice although my job here has me showing up at 6AM most days before the breakfast starts, but it's a pretty standard hot continental type deal.
Mon-Wed there is a social dinner deal with anything from Make your own nachos to chicken tenders to chicken sandwiches and usually some salad. Beer and Franzia are also available at no charge.

As my stay is relatively long, the small gym (2 nice treadmills, 1 not so nice eliptical, 1 bike and some random dumbbells) wasn't making do so I asked if I could use the gym at the big marriot rivercenter hotel a 3 minute walk from the residence inn. I headed over and the manager hooked me up with a card to use the gym and pool area my entire stay here, very nice! They have a much bigger selection of nautilus equip and more cardio stuff, plus the indoor pool + whirlpool and sauna is a nice bonus.

Lastly, the location. At first glance and still overall: Awesome. Downtown San Antonio is a lot of fun, you're a block and a half from the mall, a block from the alamo, and a 4 minute walk to the riverwalk. There's tons to do, and besides the higher prices levied on this tourist-rich area it's really great. The only downside (small) is that you're on what I would consider the Edge of downtown and the border of the not so nice part of San Antonio. I keep my car in the hotel garage every night and one night had to have it valeted due to the lot being full and sure enough the car was broken into and my gps stolen. The hotel/valet company took care of everything (beyond my expectations) but sure enough a month later a friend parks across the street and we go have a few beers and he's suffered the same consequence of parking his car outside and had a bag full of important files (to him and no one else) stolen.

That being said. If you're in San Antonio for more than a couple days I would highly reccomend the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. I've stayed at 4 or 5 other hotels downtown and this is my favorite. Just be sure to park in the nice gated hotel garage if you have a car!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseybum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
785 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Our stay in downtown San Antonio was great in large part to this excellent Residence Inn. The location is perfect, just steps away from the Alamo and the Riverwalk Center. If you enjoy taking a tours you can easily walk two blocks to buy your tickets and step onboard the bus. We highly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We planned a 3-night stay here in early January but checked-out after the first night. Though a change is travel plans was part of the reason for checking out early, we were eager to check-out due to a musty-smelling room with worn carpet on the 13th floor (Room 1303 if I recall correctly). Due to the age of the hotel and the general 'feel', I suspect our room was not isolated with this smell/condition and we did not bother to report the experience. Staff was very friendly -- again, very friendly. On-site laundry facility was good/convenient/clean. Plenty of 'life' at free breakfast buffet; food was good. Riverwalk happened to be drained when we visited town (oh well) but location from the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk (the Alamo is even closer). Internet terminals in the lobby provided free (but very slow) internet access; one is required to stand instead of sit while using the internet. Parking is very convenient (adjacent) but expensive by our standards; pricing for parking appears to be consistent with other hotels and parking options in the area however. (Very) Small outdoor pool with hot tub but we did not try it. We would not choose to stay at this hotel again but realize that -- for the price in this touristy area -- it offers good location with all the basics and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackTheBagAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I really like Marriott extended stay hotels but this one I just didn't see the value. $139.00 a night plus taxes plus $22.00 for self parking! This is not valet, $22.00 to use there parking garage! All other Residence Inns have an open parking lot that I self park for $0.00. I think that's what killed me. If I'm gonna dole our $189.00 a night, I'm gonna stay at a 5 star hotel, not here.

If your visiting San Antonio, there are plenty of other extended stay hotels outside the city. You can drive in to see the Alamo and pay $10.00 and park you car for the day.

The staff was ok, I had one incident where the staff walked over and changed the channel of the TV while I was watching it. I chimed in that I was watching that and she returned it to the channel. I really think she did it on purpose because of what I was watching in hope I would not say anything. There was no way around this, it was clear I ws watching the TV.

The meal lines were always full, and it felt like I was in a line at the amusement park.

I think that this hotel may have onc been a 5 star hotel and Marriott converted it over. It has the feeling of a 5 star without all the amendeties of it.

If I were visiting San Antonio for the 1st time and I had a large family, and money was dropping out of pocket, I would stay here, otherwise, I'm staying further out for a better price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKlimeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Excellent Staff and they love their TIgers! Walking distance to the Riverwalk!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bigAL619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

this hotel isnt fancy but it is clean, quiet, the staff are excellent and it is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotothrottleup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 425 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing