We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #44 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms and service”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We were very impressed with the Residence Inn Riverwalk. Great room and location especially for the price! The staff was wonderful as well. We will be back.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelbabelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    196
    53
    11
    8
See reviews for
234
94
23
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Västerås
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

The hotel was amazing with a fantastic staff, helpful and very service-minded. The location is perfect for the Alamo, Riverwalk and the rest of the downtown area. We parked the car on arrival and walked around all the places we wanted to visit. When we entered our room we where really surpised, it's really big. The room had a kitchen area, sitting area and a sleeping area. The reservation included a great hot breakfast and to our surprise they had a "social event" every evening between 6 pm and 7.30 pm (we think it was between Monday thru Wednesday) where you got complimentary food and drinks, the food was different dishes every evening and for drinks you could choose between beer or 3 different types of wine (non alcoholic beverages was also available). The hotel had a parking lot inside the building, the parking fee was fair and it was very easy to get to the parking spot after we had checked in. If we ever come back to San Antonio this will definetly be the place for us to stay at again !!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

I traveled to San Antonio for a conference and there were so many choices... we selected this. Turned out to be the PERFECT CHOICE. 2 easy blocks to the Alamo, about 3 blocks to the Riverwalk.. Throw in free breakfast (and a pretty good one), free Internet, and really nice, clean rooms with a fridge and it's a great choice. I would prefer this over the Hilton Palacio del Rio, where our meeting was (grumbling from the guests all week who stayed there... have to pay for Web access, expensive...)

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very comfortable & roomy. Great to work in or kick back after a day of meetings. Great fitness center.

We paid $50 less than the meeting rate at the other place, and had about a 5 block walk (right past / through the Alamo) to our meeting.

Again, if you are worried that it'll be off the River, do not worry. It's close, easy access. I'm not sure what else to say other than I highly recommend it. My colleague was very happy with the selection as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank professorroyhinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Nice roomy 2BR suite. Nice to have refrigerator to freeze bottled water to take out on excursions. 39th consecutive day over 100 degrees; why did we go in the summer? All staff greeted us whenever/wherever. Good breakfast spread. Pancakes, French toast, croissants and regular RI food changed daily. Steam in laundry set off fire alarm at about 11 pm, so we all had an outing. Good location- about 2 blocks from Alamo and 4 from Riverwalk. Secure, gated, adjoining parking ramp.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Very conveniently located to Alamo and Riverwalk. A little pricey for a one bedroom suite, but take advantage of breakfast and free evening drinks and food. Ran into a famous Dallas Cowboy staying at the hotel for the football camp. Employees are very helpful.
If we came back, would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoMom_of_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Stayed here with a 3 & 8 year old, my husband and my parents. The suites are awesome for a family of 6. The little kitchen and living room area was great and allowed us room to spread out. The 2 bathrooms are a life saver for that many people. The hotel location made it very easy for us to walk to the alamo and the riverwalk area. The location was close enough for us to walk without paying the high price of staying right on the riverwalk. We arrived on a Wednesday and only got to enjoy the evening social hour one night, but it was really great. The lady running it the night we were there was awesome. VERY friendly and even went in back and got popsicles for my kids:) We decided to leave San Antonio a day early and go to the coast and the lady at the front desk helped up find a wonderful hotel in Corpus Christi and gave us some personal information about beaches to go to etc. as she had just returned from that area. I hope I can find a hotel like this one in the other cities my family and I will visit in the years to come. I would choose this hotel again if I return to San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This Residence Inn is near the Alamo and not far from the River Walk. Chose to stay here due to lower price and decent breakfast included. This hotel is very busy and was paricularly so the holiday weekend we stayed. This hotel doesn't have a lot of amenities but what they do, they do well. The hotel manager was on site and frequently seen helping out and working with staff. Good place for families.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank super66shazbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
1,940 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 425 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing