We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #34 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Value!”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Just enjoyed a trip to San Antonio with my toddler and parents and was able to stay in a large, comfortable suite with two bedrooms and a well stocked kitchen. All of us enjoyed our stay and it was great to have the space for everyone to spread out at night. The pool was fun with the toddler and the fitness center was fine for my needs. We all very much enjoyed the full (FREE) breakfast and were also able to take advantage of the cocktail time one evening (Monday through Wednesday nights). All the staff, from Front Desk to housekeeping to the woman pouring the beer and wine Wednesday night, were friendly and had a smile on their faces. They looked like it wasn't just a great place to stay, but a good place to work too! Highly recommend this hotel for travel, especially with family. Also a very short walk (Across the parking lot and Left on Bowie) to the Conference Center and all the Riverwalk fun!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKTravelerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    189
    51
    8
    8
See reviews for
227
92
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wynnewood, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I just returned from 3 nights in San Antonio having stayed at the Residence Inn/Alamo Plaza. Just around the corner from the tourist sights, the rooms were clean and spacious, they included a substantial breakfast and cocktail hour, and the customer service was above and beyond. While we are both business travelers, and not surprised by how hotels treat frequent business guests, we were amazed at how the front desk staff, and notably Dorothy, took such good care of us on our leisure stay when we had a minor key annoyance. She also helped us secure a last minute dinner for 50 on a busy week with a terrific dinner reservation. Great job!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We were in town for the New Years holiday. We like to stay on the river but given a city view room in a hotel right on the river was running over $300 per night (before tax) the $159 rate at the Residence Inn became very attractive. Especially given they include breakfast.

The staff was very pleasant and allowed us to check in early around 11am. (We moved from another hotel that was not acceptable.)

We were on the 13th floor and even and did not hear much noise to speak of. (A bit of noise from the club next door between 1 and 2am on 12/31 and a few trains.)

This hotel is only a several years old and is in wonderful shape. The rooms though not fancy are clean and have plenty of room. The rooms also have a full kitchen with fridge, microwave, stovetop, dishwasher, sink, and kitchenware. Everything is clean though rather starkly decorated. The lobby is very nice and even at peak tourist hours the breakfast was well stocked. (Egg, meat, hash browns, fresh waffles, and other continental fare. Would have been nice to have some cut fruit. The management staff works hard to ensure that things are well stocked and tables are cleared. This was especially impressive given the large number of leisure travelers.

The hotel offers a hospitality hour in the evening, but hot wings and a few veggies was not worth the crowd. I imagine that they do a nicer hospitality when it is regular business days. By note the hospitality is also only Monday - Wednesday....not Thursday. (Breakfast is every day.)

We stayed in a Queen Studio suite (divider wall not separate bedroom) which was well decorated. The bed was comfortable, linens well stocked. Room was spotless. I was surprised at the rather small CRT TV that was hard to see from any point in the room. (From the bed or couch) Internet access in the room was spotty, but this is the case with most wifi at hotels.

Small pool / hot tub and acceptable very nice exercise room. There are two PC's available - one downstairs and one on the 2nd floor.

Parking is $15 per day in an attached garage. If the parking garage is full they will refund your fee. As a note, plentiful self parking is available across the street (pay on site) for $7 per night.

They have a little convenience store on site. Prices are a bit high, but was welcome to have it there on the 31st when we got back to the hotel at 1:00 am after the New Years Celebration. (San Antonio does it up right.)

All of the staff was wonderful from check in, housekeeping, and checkout. The location is about a 5 minute walk to the river walk, seems safe enough but as always watch yourself at night. You can either enter the river through the Rivercenter Mall / Marriott or next to the Hyatt directly across from the Alamo.

So, if you are there during peak times, and don’t want to pay too much to stay on the river, or if you have a family and want breakfast included this is your spot. You can likely find river front hotels for the same price during off seasons, but will pay much more for parking at those locations and not have free breakfast.

I am a Hilton member primarily, but after seeing the Hampton Inn across the street (old, crowded, etc.) I am so glad we skipped the points and stayed at the Residence Inn!

  • Liked — Great Breakfast, Fair Price, Close Enough To Everything
  • Disliked — AC Blower will not stay on in rooms. (I like white noise)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Downtown Residence Inn by Marriott is two large open carparks away from the River Center shopping mall, with the Convention Center and Riverwalk beyond. On the other hand, the back of the Alamo itself is just a block away. The area around the Residence Inn is not greatly attractive, but seemed safe enough during the four nights that I spent there. (Can someone tell the train drivers who pass through San Antonio at night to stop blowing their horns?) The Residence Inn itself is comfortable and has pleasant staff. The bedroom/sitting room/kitchen set up would suit a small family group. The amenities are functional without being deluxe. If you are in town for a convention and don't want to overspend, this hotel is a good choice in my opinion.

  • Liked — Not far from the center of town, but good value
  • Disliked — Area around is a little desolate
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October in a 2 bedroom suite. 4 adults and two children and there was ample room for my husband, parents and children aged 11 and 7.

The hotel was quite well situated within a short 10 minute walk to the Riverwalk.

Very close to the Alamo around a 5 minute walk. River walk Mall could be seen from our hotel window and was again under a 10 minute walk.

The suite had two double bedrooms with their own ensuite bathrooms. We also had a sleeper sofa in the lounge. We had a full kitchen with oven.dishwasher,full size fridge freezer, a sink,microwave and a coffee maker. Nice comfortable beds. The suite was very clean.

The hotel has coin op laundry on several floors. There were two washers and two driers in the one we used. A wash and a dry were £1.75 each.

In the lobby there is a small pantry shop selling,beer,wine,ice creams,chips,nuts etc., The freezer also had a couple of frozen microwave meals.

The breakfast was very good. Quite alot of choice of cereals,oatmeal,grits,bacon,scrambled eggs,sausage patties,waffles,pancakes and fresh juice.

We went to the managers reception which was held Monday to Thursday nights. On the 1st night of our stay they had delicious burgers for dinner. Another night it was spaghetti and meatballs, another evening tacos. Beer, wine and soft drinks were free.

There was an ATM and one PC offering internet access in the lobby.
There is a small outdoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Staff on the desk were helpful and friendly as were the breakfast staff.

We visited the Alamo, The Riverwalk several times, The Market Square, V nice for Mexican souvenirs. We also took the Kids to Ripleys Believe it or not and The Guiness Book of record exhibitions which they enjoyed.

The hotel overlooks a parking lot but this did not bother us at all.
We could hear some distant train noise but again this did not bother us either.

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would happily recommend it to friends or other travellers.

We would stay here if in the area again. Overall a v good experience.

  • Liked — The nice spacious suite which was close to all the attractions
  • Disliked — The pool was on the small side and did not get alot of sun
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WelshLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We spent one night at the Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza. Overall, we were pleased with our stay. The hotel was convenient to the Riverwalk and Alamo, within walking distance. We chose to utilize the hotel's parking garage, which costs $15/day. You have the option to use a lot across the street, but I felt better about leaving our rental car in an enclosed garage, so we opted for that. When we arrived, checkin went very smoothly. We discovered that the tv wasn't working properly in the room. It took about 5 minutes from when we placed a call to when the maintenance man came to check out the problem. Within about 15 minutes, he had replaced the tv for us. I was pleased with the fast response time. The room was clean. There was a refrigerator, two-burner stovetop; and a dishwasher. We didn't really use the kitchen except for the coffeemaker. One of my favorite features about Residence Inns is the full-sized vanity located outside of the tub/shower/toilet area. It's nice to have that convenience when traveling. Breakfast was pretty good; scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle makers; various types of breads and pastries, fruit, yogurt, and cereal were available.
This Residence Inn has a very large breakfast/seating area. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JMRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Hotel was okay, not a newer hotel so the kitchen was a bit outdated.
Clean rooms, and a decent dinner buffet.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,862 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 425 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing