We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #40 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my first review, and I can not keep this story to myself. I am a mother of a 9 year old and a 18month old. I just returned from a long military deployment and took a trip to San Antonio as a complete surprise for my children so we could have fun and get to know one another again. The staff helped out and played along with the surprise theme with my girls. THEN they surprised me. We came back one night to discover I hand written card from the staff wishing us a great trip AND stuffed animals from Seaworld for my girls AND ice cream in the freezer AND cookies for us. Oh and root beer in the fridge to make floats. The staff are amazing and thoughtful. I can not say enough good about this experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Great to see the staff utilzed their empowerment and made some special surprises for you and your family. That certainly is what makes this job fun. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    180
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
217
90
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms. Traveled with our daughter and had enough space to be comfortable. Great location. Just minutes from everything we wanted to do!! Great, friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charalene83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are very appreciative of this kind review. Please come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This isn't luxury, but the rooms at this hotel have all been remodeled in the last year. They are lovely and modern. They are spacious with a kitchenette. The breakfast is great. It is a full breakfast with eggs, sausage or bacon, Belgian waffles, oatmeal, fruit, cereal, several kinds of muffins, bagels, toast, yogurt, etc.
The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Alamo, the Rivercenter Mall, and the Riverwalk. The valet parking is pricey--$24 a day--but itis unlimited in and out. Most other parking lots/hotels don't offer that. All of the hotel staff that we have encountered have been so friendly and helpful. They are always smiling and ready to assist. We really enjoy staying at this hotel. We have been coming to San Antonio twice a year for over 30 years and have stayed at many different downtown hotels, but I prefer to stay at this hotel over any of the others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicaalegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review. Please come back and stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

A great home base near the Alamo and the RIverWalk at a very reasonable price. If you are used to staying at the Ritz, fairmont, or JW this may not be for you, but if you want a clean spacious suite in a good location then sign yourself up to stay here. Staff was polite and provided great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the review. I (and I am biased) belive that your review is spot on! Thanks for taking the time to respond about your stay and thank you so much for staying with us! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely room on the top floor: full kitchen, sitting area with pull out sofa, queen bed. Recently renovated so it's all modern, which we love. Complimentary breakfast was better than expected: eggs, sausage, potatoes, make-your-own-texas-belgian waffles, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, toast, yogurts, oatmeal, juices and coffee/tea. Even the dining area was nice where the manager (?) was attentive to cleaning the areas and talking to the guests. Very kind and hands-on genteman.
Hotel location seemed rather dark and secluded BUT it was only 2.5 blocks from the Alamo and the rest of the buzz. Lots of attractions, eateries, restaurants. The Riverwalk was the highlight for us...plenty of entrances for this sublevel wonder. Riverwalk is quite extensive and is restaurant heaven! Beautiful sight in December with all the xmas lights strung on the trees. We saw the New Year's fireworks at HemisPark (less than a 15 min walk) from the hotel.
Downside of hotel was pricey parking (self or valet is same price $25 per nite + tax)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY2TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing this review of the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza on Trip Advisor. Also, thank you for staying with us at the hotel. You did stay with us during an exciting time for the city. Please come back and do it again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were in town for one night only but could have easily stayed in this great hotel quite comfortably for a week. Location is convenient to the many wonderful sights of historic downtown San Antonio, and practically in the backyard of the Alamo. Breakfast had many offerings are available most all morning. Nice friendly staff as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Questovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review as well as thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. Please visit us again on future stays to the Alamo City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was expecting the normal hotel room, but no, it was a full apartment, two double beds, sofa bed, bathroom, writing desk and kitchen. Well presented and clean. Hotel staff were very helpful. Car valet worked perfectly. Although a little expensive. Breakfast was very unexpected with eggs, sausage, fresh fruits, cereals, muffins,everything you could want. There was also a complimentary meal and get together in the evening. Wow. Great stay, if we return to San Antonio this is where we will stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and we hope to host you on a future trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 425 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing