We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
96
58
26
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
58
26
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket squarefood trucknice residencebasketball courttwo bedroom suitefresh oatmeala nice grocery storefront deskenjoyed the complimentary breakfastfull kitchenfree food and drinksthe river walksocial hourcoffee machinetexas shaped waffleshard boiled eggsevery staff member
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 195 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Given the location, free parking, price and breakfast the hotel is a decent value. With that being said it is definatley not a three and a half star hotel. I have stayed at other Residents Inns and they were amazing. The first room we were given had a large dead cockaroach in it. The second room we were given already had people in it. The last room that we were in had ants in the shower. At least they were not in the kitchen......

With regards to the hotels proximity to the famed River Walk, it is not within walking distance for younger children ( under 10). You can catch the trolley around the corner from the hotel but it does not appear to be the safest area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your check-in at your hotel. We work very hard to ensure that our guests have a positive experience and we deeply regret that we missed the mark. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the valuable amenities we have to offer and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your host the next time you are in San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the famous Riverwalk (about 10 min walk). We came here for the March Break and because of that the whole city was packed. This is a very conveniently located facility with everything you need – (swimming pool, breakfast, basketball court and free parking). We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the valuable amenities our hotel has to offer and our close proximity to the riverwalk. We hope to welcome you back next Spring Break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great location if you like the Mercado. It is an easy four blocks away. Since the property is so close, this property may be noisy during Fiesta or other events. This property is OK but not the best, however the staff are outstanding. With that said, I never got the ice bucket I requested. One plus about this property is FREE parking as opposed to other properties closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeriousBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel's complimentary parking and location in proximity to the Mercado. We sincerely apologize for neglecting to deliver your ice bucket. We look forward to making it up to you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

While a bit 'tired', overall this was a good value. Hot breakfast, 24 he coffee, and the in room kitchen made it comfortable. While a half mile walk to Market Sq, and another half mi to the River Walk loop, it was fine. Would be difficult for some, or in extreme weather. Fiesta decor was fun, as well as Dewayne at the front desk!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Fiesta decorations, friendly staff and convenient location to Market Square and the Riverwalk. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for kind night spur of the moment. Check in was supposed to be at 3, but when we arrived at 4 our room wasn't ready. When we finally went in, the hallway and elevator carpet was gross. Obviously in need of replacement. Our room was cold, so we turned up the thermostat. It never did reach our desired temperature...even by the next morning. The couch in the room had black stains on it, and was old like the carpet. Our room had a fireplace, but it didn't work. The beds were comfortable, but the blankets were worn. Everything was clean, but definitely in need of refurbishment. The pool was nice, and there was a nice playground for the kids. This hotel could be great if it were brought up to marriott standards.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyMommyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for the review of our property, we appreciate both positive and negative feedback. We apologize for the delay at check-in and the issues you experience in your room. We have addressed the maintenance issues you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We do hope you give us another chance on your future travels to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews