We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #107 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Given the location, free parking, price and breakfast the hotel is a decent value. With that being said it is definatley not a three and a half star hotel. I have stayed at other Residents Inns and they were amazing. The first room we were given had a large dead cockaroach in it. The second room we were given already had people in it. The last room that we were in had ants in the shower. At least they were not in the kitchen......

With regards to the hotels proximity to the famed River Walk, it is not within walking distance for younger children ( under 10). You can catch the trolley around the corner from the hotel but it does not appear to be the safest area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your check-in at your hotel. We work very hard to ensure that our guests have a positive experience and we deeply regret that we missed the mark. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the valuable amenities we have to offer and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your host the next time you are in San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the famous Riverwalk (about 10 min walk). We came here for the March Break and because of that the whole city was packed. This is a very conveniently located facility with everything you need – (swimming pool, breakfast, basketball court and free parking). We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the valuable amenities our hotel has to offer and our close proximity to the riverwalk. We hope to welcome you back next Spring Break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great location if you like the Mercado. It is an easy four blocks away. Since the property is so close, this property may be noisy during Fiesta or other events. This property is OK but not the best, however the staff are outstanding. With that said, I never got the ice bucket I requested. One plus about this property is FREE parking as opposed to other properties closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeriousBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel's complimentary parking and location in proximity to the Mercado. We sincerely apologize for neglecting to deliver your ice bucket. We look forward to making it up to you during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

While a bit 'tired', overall this was a good value. Hot breakfast, 24 he coffee, and the in room kitchen made it comfortable. While a half mile walk to Market Sq, and another half mi to the River Walk loop, it was fine. Would be difficult for some, or in extreme weather. Fiesta decor was fun, as well as Dewayne at the front desk!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Fiesta decorations, friendly staff and convenient location to Market Square and the Riverwalk. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for kind night spur of the moment. Check in was supposed to be at 3, but when we arrived at 4 our room wasn't ready. When we finally went in, the hallway and elevator carpet was gross. Obviously in need of replacement. Our room was cold, so we turned up the thermostat. It never did reach our desired temperature...even by the next morning. The couch in the room had black stains on it, and was old like the carpet. Our room had a fireplace, but it didn't work. The beds were comfortable, but the blankets were worn. Everything was clean, but definitely in need of refurbishment. The pool was nice, and there was a nice playground for the kids. This hotel could be great if it were brought up to marriott standards.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyMommyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for the review of our property, we appreciate both positive and negative feedback. We apologize for the delay at check-in and the issues you experience in your room. We have addressed the maintenance issues you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We do hope you give us another chance on your future travels to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here recently while attending the 2013 Tejano Fan Fair and it was Ok. The staff is really nice and the prices are reasonable (given the time of year).

Ok, it's not the Marriott Riverwalk or Hotel Valencia.. If you want that nice of a hotel, stay on the Riverwalk.

If you go during Fiesta or Fan Fair, most of the bands you will want to see are going to be either at the Mercado or at Cattleman's Square. If you want to be by those areas, this is actually not a bad pick. Yes, it's a little pricey for the location. They always jack the prices up during Fan Fair and Fiesta. You pay for the location.

Overall, it was an OK hotel. The rooms and hallways looked a little worn down but the rooms were fairly clean and we all had a good night sleep.

The staff was very nice and always very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the service from our friendly staff and the hotel's proximity to special events at the Market Square. We hope to welcome you back for during Fiesta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was attending a conference in San Antonio and failed to get a room at the conference hotel. I chose the Residence Inn at Market Square after a frantic search. May wife accompanied me on the trip. When we drove up my expectations immediately went south. The exterior was not terrible, just lacked some measure of "wow" factor you kind of expect. Check-in was quick and efficient. Staff people went out of their way to thank us for choosing their hotel. I did not see any other guests - that concerned me.

The room was smaller than expected, but clean and well maintained -with the exception of an old red recliner and ottoman that showed the signs of wear. In short, I wasn't feeling real good about my choice at this point. However, that would change shortly. That night we attended their cookout featuring hamburgers and hot dogs. People, families and guests were everywhere. What a spread! Sodas, bottled water, wine, coffee and Coronas were flowing. Salads and trimmings were plentiful. Fresh baked cookies were steadily being brought out. It was great. WE were encouraged to take something back to the room. Our attitude changed. We had a comfortable first night and appreciated the full kitchen with dishes and silverware. The dishes were washed in the dishwasher each day by the maid. The service was outstanding.

The front desk staff was great. Dewayne was our anchor person. He was simply outstanding and made my wife very comfortable. She came to really love this place. Breakfast was very, very nice every day, and my wife was content as I attended meetings daily. When we visited the Alamo on Saturday, Dewayne gave us drinks to help survive the hot, muggy weather - A real touch of class.

We would definitely stay at this property again. We are accustomed to places like the Marriott Plaza, but the personal touches we experienced at the Residence Inn Market Square property are unforgettable. Thanks for an outstanding stay.
KH and RH

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We appreciate the review of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet and the dinner and beverages provided during the evening social. We look forward to providing you with our spectacular service during your next visit to San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 628 S Santa Rosa Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $149 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square offers an ideal location in the heart of downtown San Antonio, just off I-35. This great location is within minutes of top destinations including Market Square, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome, and the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate the quick commute to the offices of AT&T, Toyota, Boeing, and HEB Grocery, as well as business-friendly amenities such as free proprety-wide WiFi, a 24-hour business center, and over 1,400 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting and event space. Our suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by HD TVs, plush bedding, and the fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. Start your day off with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings at the weekday evening social hour. Guests will love to maintain their active lifestyle with a workout in the fitness center or a game of basketball on the SportCourt, or they can spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun by the outdoor pool. With thoughtful amenities and prime location in the heart of downtown, Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square is the perfect choice for extended stay trips or weekend getaways to San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing