We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was delighted with our stay- Perfect for Basic Military Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Ranked #60 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Was delighted with our stay- Perfect for Basic Military Graduation”
Reviewed April 5, 2009

My husband and myself in one room, two nephew's and brother-in-law in another, and extended family members in another room, all (9) of us enjoyed our stay. All commented rooms were clean, freshly painted, and modern with fridge and microwave.
Beds were pillowtop and very comfortable as were the four pillows on our kingsized bed. Lady bartender, desk workers, room attendants, manager, and restaurant server and Host Al were very friendly and competent. Desk workers accomodated an early check-in for us for 11:30-12:00 p.m. as we were very tired from driving. Location was very convenient to Lackland AFB and they give you written directions to various locations like Air Bases, Downtown, Sea World. Not a far drive to Sea World either. Breakfast omlets, french toast, pancakes and eggs were perfect. . Pool area and pool were clean. Area covered near pool to sit and use laptop or WiFI in your room, or use their laptop in lobby. TV and sofa in lobby where you can sit and watch Plasma TV. They were booked up before we got there. I suggest you make your reservations early( at least three weeks or more) through Military Hotels website to get best rate which was $80.25/night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    101
    42
    25
    27
See reviews for
289
20
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma CIty
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I and two colleagues traveled to San Antonio for a week-long course at Lackland AFB. Not being familiar with San Antonio, we made reservations at this Holiday Inn because it seemed the nicest in the area. The staff is very friendly. However, both rooms had ants. In one room: the iron was broken and the light in the bathroom kept turning off while showering. The other room was not cleaned/made up for 3 days. We assume this was because the sign had been left out not to change the linens. The "exercise room" was out of date and not well ventilated. We did not feel safe to explore the neighborhood outside of the hotel, and there were fliers posted by the hotel warning of interactions with certain local business people. When we did some research, we found that for the same price (AAA rate) we could stay in a modern hotel on the Riverwalk (Hyatt Regency). Lackland AFB was a 10-15 min easy freeway drive at 8am and 4pm. On the Riverwalk we felt safe to explore the fabulous San Antonio culture for 4 more nights. For the same price the riverwalk hotel had so much more to offer. I suggest you research other options before your stay. If you have to stay close to the AFB due to transportation issues, this Holiday Inn is a tolerable option for a night or two. If you are going to rent a car anyway, consider the Riverwalk area instead.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — neighborhood
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neojami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I flew down to San Antonio for my husbands graduation from BMT. I was a little sceptical about staying here due to the pretty bad reviews, and expected the worse. I really really enjoyed my stay here and I would definitly reccomend it to others. The pool is absolutely gorgeous and crystal clear clean. The hotel staff was the nicest of any hotel I've ever been to. Housekeeping was absolutely fabulous. I thought the bed was very comfortable. I think the only big thing I disliked was when we first got there the room was very humid. (San Antonio is VERY humid) and the bed and floors were moist with the humidity. After running the air conditioner for about 15 minutes it was fine for the rest of the stay. A few small things I disliked was the TV. It didn't have a DVD player, or even hookups to plug one in. Also, the TV didn't have a sleep timer on it. The hotel does not offer free continental breakfast, but the restaruant downstairs was very fairly priced and wonderful. Its very close to the base and every other hotel in the area was a complete dump. If you're looking for somewhere to stay for BMT graduation, watch out for the other hotels in the area....... and I definitly reccommend this one.

  • Liked — The gorgeous outdoor pool
  • Disliked — The humidity
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank misslysxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKTA P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio), responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like you had a great stay. We are glad you were able to relax in our comfortable beds. We will look into DVR and TV timer.

Once again Thank you staying with us.
Akta Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for my brother's basic training graduation. This hotel is only an ok stay if you want to be very close to Lackland AFB. It's probably the nicest hotel of those close to the base. But, I would only stay here if you want to be really close to the base and want something a little cheaper than what you can find in San Antonio itself. The Riverwalk area in San Antonio is beautiful and you can go hang out in the evening there. I would recommend a hotel there.

The Hotel:
It was clean. Beds were fairly comfy. There are no elevators, so if you have any mobility problems or don't want to do stairs with your suitcases get a ground floor room!

They have a nice pool and hot tub in the center of the hotel. There are a lot of people who used it on Saturday, the day that the graduates get a town pass (honor grads get town on Sunday as well, but those are much fewer). After Saturday's use by so many people both the pool and hot tub were disgusting. That was unfortunate, as I would have like to use it again, but no way. It was not cleaned by the time we left on Monday.

There seemed to be a lot of confusion with the cleaning staff. One day they cleaned our room and then knocked on the door three seperate times to see if it had been cleaned.

There is a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. The buscuits and gravy were passable for breakfast. The tacos for dinner are terrible (no seasoning) and my dad said that the chicken was pretty good. Don't plan on having a "quick" meal here. They were pretty slow.

  • Liked — Hot Tub/Pool Until Dirty
  • Disliked — Dirty Hot Tub/Pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deirdrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for sons graduation, and after visiting some of the other hotels in the Lackland AFB Area, we were at the best one. Front Desk Staff very friendly and great pool atrium area. They said that they went through a rennovation and it looks great!

  • Liked — Pool Area
  • Disliked — Fitness Center
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgt008541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The hotel was not too bad, but did have some problems. When we first arrived there was no hot water in the room. I asked the hotel clerk about it and he said that everyone must have took a shower at the same time and used all the hot water up. I thought that was a strange answer. But we did have hot water in the morning.

We ran out of tissues the first night and maid service did not bother refilling the 2ndt day. The 3rd day we set the kleenex box out on the sink and they did replace it that day.

We did not get fresh wash clothes the 2nd day either. But everytime I asked the hotel staff for extra towels, pillows, etc. they were helpful.

There is a pool in an enclosed center courtyard that is nice. And it is very close to Lackland AFB which is why I choose this hotel since we were there to see our daughters Air Force Basic Training Graduation.

  • Liked — Location to Lackland AFB
  • Disliked — Not the best maid service.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I went to this hotel in hopes that we would have a lovely time while there. It says on the website that the hotel is located in a Suburban area but when you pull up it looks like you are in an unsafe place totally. I did not take pictures but wish I had. Anyway, we arrive and are assigned our rooms only to find out that there is no elevator. This means that we have to carry our items up to the second floor. No problem for me but it really did not help the older persons who were with us. Next we get some coupons to have a free breakfast and we think hey this trip and stay may turn out to be cool after all. Now the coupon was to be used for the remainer o our stay, but come Saturday morning the story was different. W were told that the coupons were worthless and that the hotel lost a lot of money b/c of that. They fired the manager who I will not name but I do not think that was fair. Besides as much as we paid to stay in that dump the coupns should have been honored.

To anyone who is going to visit SA in the future please do not stay at this place. I could go on but the manager being fired was what made the stay beyond cool.

  • Liked — Patty from the bar and the Chef
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank monyg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Address: 6502 West Old US Highway 90, San Antonio, TX 78227 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a Texas-sized welcome and services like free high-speed Internet access, reserve a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lackland AFB (San Antonio), TX. This hotel is just a mile away from Lackland Air Force Base and is ideally suited for family and friends attending graduation ceremonies for airmen finishing up Lackland Basic Military Training. For entertainment the whole family will love, San Antonio attractions like SeaWorld, the Alamo and River Walk are less than a 10-mile drive away. On site, enjoy a modern fitness center, a business center and an outdoor pool. Don't miss a single morning at the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Lackland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing