We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Spot in SA”

Japanese Tea Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Antonio Electric Scooter tour to The Japanese Tea Garden
Ranked #13 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally a rock quarry, part of the tea garden came from a donation by George W. Brackenridge and another section from Emma Koehler. In 1915 Ray Lambert, city parks commissioner, thought it would make a nice location for a lily pond. Ultimately, it grew to become a tea garden. The latest renovations began in 2007 and cost about $1.6 million, compared with the $7,000 Lambert originally spent to open the park. It is a Registered Texas Historic Landmark and on the National Register of Historic Places.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite Spot in SA”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Grew up stopping by here. My mother was in love with this place. I've done photoshoots here for school projects and for friends. Always such a relaxing place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliciatheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    340
    95
    29
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Japanese? Chinese?”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is such a pretty spot! The garden consists of winding paths across ponds and through the foliage to a waterfall right at the back. It's nice to wander for half an hour or so.

I did have to laugh at the fact that the sign at the entrance to the park describes it as a "Chinese Tea Garden" when everywhere else calls it Japanese!

Good points: peaceful, pretty.

Bad points: small, lots of stairs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahKnowsThisOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool way to kill 45 minutes”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful park with huge koi ponds and waterfalls. Free park. Big parking lot that was also free. Right next to zoo if you wanted another place to check out. Glad we went. Definitely need a car to get there if you are staying close to the river walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the Tea”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you love Tea, this is the place. Cant describe the atmosphere, but once you go, you will know. I highly recommend going and its great for kids if they are into Tea. Family oriented and clean. Try the Green Tea, classic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful textures! ”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I can understand why people would get married here. I toured the entire place in about an hour, and then took another hour or so to have lunch in the tea house. It was very peaceful and beautiful. The only caveat is that it's very hilly and uneven terrain. If you have any difficulty walking, this is not going to be an easy stroll for you. I love Japanese gardens, and I think this could have benefited from some authentic statuary, etc. The tea house was lovely and not too expensive and offered a large variety of teas to drink. Free admission to the garden.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Tea Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing