We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens a small delight”

Japanese Tea Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.68*
and up
San Antonio Grand Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Antonio Electric Scooter tour to The Japanese Tea Garden
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Afternoon Grand Historic Tour
Ranked #13 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally a rock quarry, part of the tea garden came from a donation by George W. Brackenridge and another section from Emma Koehler. In 1915 Ray Lambert, city parks commissioner, thought it would make a nice location for a lily pond. Ultimately, it grew to become a tea garden. The latest renovations began in 2007 and cost about $1.6 million, compared with the $7,000 Lambert originally spent to open the park. It is a Registered Texas Historic Landmark and on the National Register of Historic Places.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gardens a small delight”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The tea garden was a small hidden jewel. The koi pond (and the koi) were huge. The wandering pathways and hidden cul-de-sacs were a wonderful departure from the frenetic pace of traveling. I can only imagine how beautiful the gardens must be in the spring and summer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeborahBroyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    358
    97
    29
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We saw the Gardens years ago and they are lovely after the re-do. View of the waterfall is beautiful. I wish you could still ride across.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louisianagirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferrisburgh, Vermont, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“tucked away little garden”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful Koi ponds surrounded by gardens & short trails. Can still see the quarry walls in spots- very well maintained. Nice quite area to spend a little time

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memory Lane”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I first visited the tea gardens (I think it used to be called the Sunken Gardens) in 1962 as a teenager. Even though I have lived in San Antonio since 1976 I had never been back until this summer. On a nostalgic whim my wife and I decided to make a return visit. It is a beautiful place to spend an hour or two, very peaceful with a waterway full of Koi and meandering walkways among a diverse garden of native and non native plants. I highly recommend it to those seeking a break from typical tourist attractions. AND----there is no entry fee!. There is also a small cafe on site but I didn't try it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank highflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tea Gardens, a different site”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A little distance up Broadway from downtown and located in Brackenridge Park is an interesting site, built in an old rock quarry---the Japanese Tea Gardens.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tanglewood34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Tea Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing