We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Movie Theater!!”

Alamo Drafthouse Cinema
Ranked #19 of 73 Fun & Games in San Antonio
Attraction details
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Movie Theater!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I live almost right across the highway from the Alamo Drafthouse in Stone Oak and we go there at least once a month if not more. We have been completely spoiled and cannot go to any other movie theater! The seats are comfortable and steep enough so that you don't see the people's heads in front of you. There's a long table that runs in front of all the rows where your food and beverages go. You can order anything from sweet tea to champagne and a gyro wrap to pizzas. They have a very extensive beer menu. We always order the fried pickles which are wedges and they are delicious! We also get a pizza and I've tried them all. My favorite is a new one that has spinach and proscuitto with big chunks of roasted garlic on it. They do offer military discounts on the tickets so we pay $7. Depending on how much food you order, it can get a little pricey, but not anymore expensive than going somewhere else for dinner. Our average bill is around $35 plus tip. It's totally worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleGrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    12
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect date night”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Love coming here. The idea to be served dinner & watch a movie in a theatre, amazing! The food is good but the prices are a little too expensive. I won't bring my kids just because of the spendy snacks but its nice to come and spend some alone time with the hubby and watch a great movie.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank momma2rugrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Hall, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool theater”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was cool that you could get refills without missing any of the movie and the prices were cheaper than the theater we normally go to at home. The only down side was you have to pay before the movie was over and it was too dark to see my receipt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaH977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Good idea”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a novel idea of watching movies and eating. Good food and attentive wait staff. Thought i would be interuptted by the servers but most of the action takes place before the movie starts. The screens and sound at this theatre are superb. ....Oh they have alcohol too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yogi459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Dinner & a movie--perfect combo.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband & I visited this Alamo Drafthouse on a weekend trip to SA. It was our first time here, though we have been to the others in San Antonio. It truly a great concept--order before the movie starts & get your meal as your film begins. Perfect for anyone wanting to combine the plan of a dinner & a movie. They have a good variety of food (i.e. burgers, wraps, pizzas, shakes, etc.) as well as traditional movie snacks (i.e. popcorn, candy, etc.). Prices are quite reasonable ranging from $5-$14 per item/combo. Drinks are an additional fee, but come with free refills. Really fun experience. This location is in an older shopping plaza, thus the theater itself is older. But the seats are "new" & comfortable, & it was a very pleasant visit for us. Next time we will definitely come to this location again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thereeds_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Drafthouse Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Alamo Drafthouse Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing