We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Munch a Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill at Leon Springs

The Grill at Leon Springs
Ranked #191 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Cross street: Boerne Stage Road
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
731 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Munch a Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

There are restaurants that serve brunch buffets all over the city, but this one has one of the best. The menu items that they offer are quality meats and seafood done to perfection. You can partake of the usual omelet / waffle station, but the stars shine on the shrimp, pasta, beef, and chicken dishes. Add a bottomless champagne mimosa option to the meal and you have the makings of a wonderful Sunday afternoon. It can get crowded with the after church bunch so go early and make reservations.

Love the old building that houses the restaurant - a lot of history there - from a stage coach stop to a bar and dance hall for WWII local military to the first and former location of Macaroni's.

So next time you are thinking of going to Sunday brunch at the Hyatt Hill Country, Las Canarias, Crumpets, or the like, try the Grill instead. Your pocket book as well as your palate will thank you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    71
    14
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Christmas Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had reservations for Christmas day. When we arrived we were greeted by a polite valet employee which was complimentary. We then were seated and severed right away by Ryan. His customer service was great. We ordered the ribeye plate which was cooked perfectly. the atmosphere of the location was also pleasent. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual or Elegant, your choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Whether you're looking for a casual experience with great food and atmosphere or a reason to dress up and enjoy an upscale menu that won't put you into bankruptcy, The Grill at Leon Springs will fit the bill. Granted you may not want to take a large family or small children, but this is a perfect place for a really nice dinner with friends or your special someone. We have enjoyed anniversaries, business dinners, office holiday dinners and just a great evening with friends at The Grill. It is one of our favorite spots to take out-of-town visitors. Chef Thierry Burkle has a great menu and usually "makes the rounds" in the dining room at some point during the evening. They also offer gift certificates if you are looking for a restaurant that is not run-of-the-mill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bb6L012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Upscale, tasty appetizers & special drink prices from 4:00-7:00pm. Nice outdoor patio.

Quality food served in a warm atmoshpere for lunch & dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasTerriSa_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love the food, service, and ambiance. We go here a couple of times each month. The food is always very tasty and well prepared. You can get a very tasty and special pasta dish for about $16 and fresh fish from Alaska i(during the season)n the $30 range. I love their salads. The Wedge salad and the Beet salad are both excellent. I like them so much, I haven't tried any of the other salads but they are probably good too. On Tuesday they have half price wine by the bottle.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Leon Springs also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at Leon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing