We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Antonio
from $49.99
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $14.99
More Info
from $55.99
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
79
82
55
23
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
82
55
23
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street vendors mi tierra fun place to spend mexican items t shirts great place to shop few hours the river walk mexico gifts pottery restaurants curios clothing merchants downtown riverwalk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 243 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Travelled to Mexico on business over 100 times. Only difference with this market vs Mexico is that the merchants are not screaming at you to buy their products here.

Nice atmosphere, many items the same in each shop but I enjoyed the selection of hand made leather goods.

Nice way to spend a few hours when the weather is nice.

Thank WARNINGSHOTBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Visited Mexican Marketplace with wife and Family of four from Tampa. The women liked it, the 2 guys didn't. It was interesting with lots of stores and all kinds of stuff but sure is hard to get the ladies and girls out of there. Would be better if had a place for guys to sit while the women shopped. There was a bar/restaurant across the sidewalk but couldn't go there because of driving. The women bought some "treasures" but next time I will give them a map and the keys!

2  Thank danmurphy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

I just loved the energy and atmosphere of the market, even in the rain. So many fun things to look at and super friendly vendors. The live music was fun. Purchased some jewelry and other curios. Really enjoyed our time!

Thank GinaStruble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

The biggest mexican market north of the border is filled with great mexican food and shops. A very colorful place with all imaginable goods from Mexico.

Thank The-Viatores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Good place to visit loads of stores with different types of Mexican gifts, toys, clothes, cooking stuff.

Thank Fabian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Always a fun time visiting the Mexican Market, you can find most anything...watch your kids though. You break, you pay !

Thank JCWebb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

There were 6 in our party - ages from 87 to 10. Everyone found something they loved in this place. Lots to see and lots of choices. Our only complaint was that there was not much seating, especially for the 87 and 67 yr olds. Lots of walking but lots of fun. A grand Saturday morning for our group!

1  Thank lovebooks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Several years ago I bought a Mexican style round sink for the kitchen we were setting up in our basement. Have bought lots of Christmas gifts there. And one of my favorites is a silver carved ring with my iniials in it. We visit there everytime we visit SA.

Thank 19june41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

We visited on a Sunday and there was a colourful and noisy carnival going on with a great atmosphere. Walked through the shops and market that all looked as if they sold the same goods but fun place to spend an hour

Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

"El Mercado" was a very busy area on our weekend visit. It is easy to find, but so many of the shops at this indoor market offer the same items. It was a casual pace to view and shop in air-conditioned comfort for souvenirs. Vendors are friendly, but not overbearing which made this a pleasant experience.

Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews