We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, no Madame's, glad they called it Louis, her lesser relative”

Ripley's Believe It or Not! San Antonio
Ranked #50 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience three unique attractions including the authentically unbelievable Ripley's Believe It or Not! Odditorium, the exciting movies that you ride at Ripley's 4D Moving Theater and our larger-than-life Louis Tussaud's WaxWorks. Since 1918, our Believe It or Not Odditoriums have showcased the eclectically bizarre collection of Robert Ripley. We have carried on Ripley's tradition of scouring the globe for the world's most unbelievable exhibits. Authentic shrunken heads, two-headed animals and, a 19th century vampire killing kit only scratches the surface of what's behind the doors of Ripley's San Antonio.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced, no Madame's, glad they called it Louis, her lesser relative”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have been to wax museums, from London to Paris (school trip, I don't have a fetish) to Florida and...San Antonio. By far, the San Antonio one struck me as where the old figures to before they are 'retired' or used for light/heat. They have a sheen of age on them, gratefully a plaque to tell us what they are (it truly is not readily apparent) and some pretty sketchy costumes.....skip it. Just, skip it. Thank me later, as it is wildly overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sleopard41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    148
    116
    40
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too Expensive!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Will never go back. Wax museum didnt resemble celebrities, boring...only plus great photos ops for kids..

Museum, informative, interesting & fun (i.e. two way mirror, dizzy tunnel) makes for great photo ops with kids too. Should include tour guides to ask further questions about exhibits. Recommend once to experience...that's it

Way over priced on both places.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank budgetfrndly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've been to this Ripley's over 15 years ago and the again at the end of 2013 and it seems that nothing has really changed about it. I consider it to be overpriced and definitely a place that we could have skipped during our vacation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dissappointedtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Ok looking creations .... Most are close but not quite look a likes. Since it was part of the ticket package it was all right. Don't count on being blown away.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeamPierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poorly done wax statues”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Most of the statues did not look anything like who they were supposed to be. I've been to other wax museums and the statues looked like real people, these were poor imitations. Oversprayed paint, cheap wigs, no facial hair I could go on and on. The house of horrors was the best part mostly because it was very dark .

Helpful?
Thank Ang517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not! San Antonio also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not! San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing