We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Mission, Ma?”
Review of Mission San Juan

Mission San Juan
Ranked #38 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Franciscan Mission established in 1731 and an historical attraction along the Mission Trail in San Antonio.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another Mission, Ma?”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

You bet, and a 'not miss,' on the Mission Trail. It's a bit smaller, and the bell tower is no less impressive than it's sisters located along the Mission Trail in San Antonio.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank markstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    75
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
México
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting and well preserved”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recommend visiting the San Antonio mission and get a good idea on how the first Europeans brought their cultures and ideas to the Southwest. It is well preserved and maintained with a very good, and still functioning, chapel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank xmantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Recommend the tour”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Interesting site to learn about the missionaries & local tribes. We did the 45min tour with volunteer guide that seemed to know a lot. As its a state park it's free to see & you just give a donation if you wish.

Most interesting was our guide told us the local tribes volunteered to join the mission whereas trolley driver told us the tribes were enslaved. I wonder who was correct?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scot_in_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
547 reviews
319 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“See the Missions”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you don't see anything else in San Antonio, go see the missions. Love the architecture. Love the history. Love the landscaping. I've been on the Mission Trail so many times I can't even count, but I see it new everytime. Don't miss it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mission trail”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

As others stated, this mission is good to see along with the others on the trail. Each has its own history and charm. Making a day bike ride of it on the rental bikes was a great way to see them all.
San Juan is undergoing the most restoration.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Juan also viewed

 

Been to Mission San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing