We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Mission Espada

Mission Espada
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$38.97*
and up
Small-Group World Heritage San Antonio Missions Tour with Guide
Ranked #21 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Franciscan Mission seen along the Mission Trail.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This mission is actually quite a bit smaller than it looks in photos and is actually privately occupied! Visitors are not able to access the arched patio or the cathedral. We did not know this before my daughter and I arrived and were very disappointed, but respected the signs not to pass further onto the grounds. While taking photos of the exterior of the chapel from the visitor friendly sidewalks, someone came out of the mission and asked us to move our car (which was not parked in the location he indicated). When we explained this was not our vehicle, that we were parked in the guest parking, he just stood there, hands on hips, barring any further photos. If this is how they treat visitors I would skip this mission and see the others instead. Mission San Jose' was especially stunning and visitor friendly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shellychristman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    118
    21
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
737 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“A Great Preservation of American History”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recently, Lynn and I and friends toured 4 of the San Antonio historic missions on the Mission Trail. Mission Espada was our last stop after touring the 3 other missions. The property is interesting. Missions had so many purposes in addition to the church life that is generally associated with these properties. Almost all were forts and hospitals. All still have active Catholic congregations. Mission Espada even has a rectory, though private, for the resident priest. This mission is nicely preserved.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite mission”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Mission Espada is the most park-like of San Antonio missions. This mission is off the beaten path so you can wander the grounds and contemplate life here when it was a thriving concern.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kittysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smallest Mission”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Smallest mission but still a must see! Very pretty and all the gardens around the mission add to its beauty. Small and gorgeous and its FREE!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDiazPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovis, california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely and Holy”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a very serene blessed place. It is a lovely mission. It was so peaceful. We felt so spiritual there. It really is a wonderful piece of our history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank woodrow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Espada also viewed

 

Been to Mission Espada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing