We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum
from $18.99
More Info
from $96.34
More Info
from $49.24
More Info
from $99.99
More Info
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveler rating
531
432
191
83
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
531
432
191
83
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stuffed animals bonnie and clyde animal heads mounted animals fun house old west law enforcement lone star brewery interesting place on display teddy roosevelt gift shop lots of history the river walk taxidermy horns antlers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

We started our visit by eating at the cafe. Was slightly disappointed that they were out of brisket by 1pm. Food was good and price reasonable considering it’s a tourist spot and tax is 8%. You order at counter and the bring to you. The museum: Its actually two museums in one. The price is over $20 per adult ticket. a bit steep in my opinion The Texas Ranger museum is downstairs and the BuckHorn museum up stairs. Texas Ranger museum has lots of history about Texas Rangers. Lots of info, guns, relics. The Buckhorn museum has HUNDREDS of stuffed animals. If stuffed dead animals bother or offend you, keeping moving as this place is not for you. It was unique and neat. I’d rate it as good. Somewhere between average and very good.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank goldenparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

This museum has two parts to it. Both equally interesting, while being nothing alike! The Texas Ranger museum had information about the Texas Rangers, from when they started to present time and the affect they had to the law. There are various rooms where you see an old saloon, masonry, a jail cell, an exhibit on Bonnie and Clyde, a replica of their shot up car where they died after being caught, and a little movie about them as well as more exhibits I’m forgetting. Fascinating museum!
The second part is upstairs and is all about dead animals! There are so many different kinds of mounts- some a couple of hundred years old!!! There are bears, every kind of wild cat, fish, snakes, birds, small animals, deer, moose, ect too. In the last part of the museum there are animal anomalies such as a double headed calf, goat (if I remember correctly) and a 9 (I believe that number is correct as well) legged lamb! This was really cool as well. We got our entrance fees for half price since we got there at 2:00pm and they close at 3:00. It was all the time we needed plus an extra 10 minutes to enjoy a beverage in the cafe before we were on our way!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I had a great time. We loved the saloon! The staff is super friendly. Be sure to get there on the hop on hop off.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank HugsBugs2_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

If you're interested in Texas Rangers history and seeing a lot of stuffed animals, this is the place to go.

We stopped by while touring on a hoponhopoff bus and we enjoyed it, for what it was. We bought a couple of beers and walked through the museum.

First part is a mix of Texas Rangers history and a Western replica "city". Then it continued on the 2nd floor that was some kind of exhibition of stuffed animals, mostly heads. Sorted by category there were information to read about the animals on display.

You need at least 30 min here.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Tor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019

We visited the Buckhorn Bar twice. The first time we stopped with the intent of exploring the Texas Ranger Museum. A lor of history of the Texas Rangers. As I had a friend who was a Texas Ranger I was interested in their history. The museum itself tells the story of the founding of the Texas Rangers through the current time. Lots of small rooms and ranger artifacts including many stories and a large number of firearms. Of particular interest was the ambush of Bonnie and Clyde. They also have an old vheicle similar to the one Bonnie and Clyde were driving when they were ambushed by the rangers, complete with many bullet holes. We spent nearly two hours going through the museum and walking through the stuffed animal exhibit, ( everything from african lions to jackrabbits to penquins). Maybe too many animals to view at one time. Good place to visit for some Texas Ranger history. I thought it was worth the price of admission, but once is enough.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews