We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buckhorn Saloon entertaining & good food.”

The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.64*
and up
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum and Texas Ranger Museum
More Info
$42.11*
and up
San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the...
More Info
$92.00*
and up
San Antonio Explorer Pass
Ranked #34 of 264 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: For over 135 years, The Buckhorn Saloon has been known as a gathering place for good conversation, great food and spectacular wildlife exhibits. Explore the animal halls and prepare yourself for a truly immersive adventure. Practice your sharp shooting skills in our Toepperwein Shooting Gallery and explore over 500 different animals from around the world. The Texas Ranger Museum houses Texas Ranger artifacts including antique revolvers, automatic handguns, shotguns, badges, photographs and much more. Sip a refreshing drink as you stroll through the 33,000 square feet of artifacts from Texas history. Don't forget to grab a bite of lunch in our Cafe and pick up some souvenirs in our gift shop! The Cafe is open daily for lunch from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM. Both museums open daily at 10:00 AM. Call for exact closing times. Summer hours 10AM to 9PM. Off season hours vary. Located two blocks from the Alamo and one block from the Riverwalk, The Buckhorn Saloon and Museum and Texas Ranger Museum have something for everyone!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buckhorn Saloon entertaining & good food.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We enjoyed the Buckhorn Saloon & Museum very much. We were amazed by all the stuffed animals & thought the Texas Ranger Museum was very informative. We also enjoyed seeing the Bonnie & Clyde Car.

We enjoyed our welcome to the Saloon by the Buffalo Bill character & other cowboy. They let us take a photo of us with them. They also had a "gun fight" with Cap Guns. It was a lot of fun!
The food was also very good & reasonably priced! It was the best priced menu & quality food that we had during our entire trip.

Thank you for a fun enjoyable time!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    306
    136
    65
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A little history and a lot of beer!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed going through the museum and seeing some of the history of Texas Rangers as well as all of the animals. The old Saloon was beautiful, and who doesn't like to sit down and have a huge beer with lunch? The root beer bbq sauce was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Overhyped”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The two museums are located above and beside the bar and restaurant. I did not eat or drink at the restaurant so I cannot comment on it. However, the museum which was established by the original owners looked like a taxidermists dream with many animals mounted in tight groups on the walls. The museum itself looked like it needed a serious refurbishing and was dark and dreary. The Texas Ranger Museum was somewhat better but nothing outstanding. You pay for both museums to enter and for what you see it is really overpriced. Spend your money more fruitfully at other attractions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

You'll get a sample of what you are in for the moment you walk into this building, Dozens and dozens of taxidermy heads all over the high walls of the saloon portion of this attraction. Admission is a little expensive however it is good for two days and offers a discount on your meal if you choose to eat after your walk through the exhibits. First comes the buckhorn taxidermy exhibits, depicting more type of animals than you could ever imagine, with themed rooms such as Africa, the arctic and even the ocean. The heads with freak horns, and rattle art (pictures made using rattle snake rattlers) were especially interesting. The freak show and fun house type portions of the second floor were definitely the weakest part of the museum and I felt they didn't really fit the feel of the rest of the place. Back down on the first floor you enter the Texas ranger museum. Plenty of info on the history of these law enforcement officers, along with great artifacts . There's a small mock up western town as well where you can walk into a saloon and check out a couple of other buildings. I'd recommend seeing this place as you'll be astounded by the amount and variety of animals they have on display

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must see when in San Antonio”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Visited the Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum in May of 2014 and was surprised at the extent and content of this saloon and museum. It has a huge collection of animals and fish as well as a museum dedicated to the Texas rangers. I was impressed with the giant collection of Ranger artifacts such as guns and pictures as well as documents detailing the history of the Rangers and various people who have filled that position. It was one of the better museums I've ever visited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scotty4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing