We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice area but be aware you are in a downtown area”
Review of River Walk

River Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.99*
and up
San Antonio River Walk Cruise, Hop-On Hop-Off Tour, and The Battle For Texas...
Ranked #1 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paseo del Rio is San Antonio's favorite attraction. You can shop, dine, lounge in a cafe, or simply stroll along and let the strumming mariachi soothe your spirit.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A nice area but be aware you are in a downtown area”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited the River Walk both days that we were in San Antonio and enjoyed the walk along the river and seeing the sights along and near the river.

The area was nice and clean and although the river was dirty looking, it was interesting to see. The restaurants were numerous and some looked very nice.

I did notice that there are a lot of homeless people in the area resting under the bridges in the river walk area and a few of them drinking out of paper bags. There was no police that I saw moving them along and I do think it should be a priority for the tourist trade.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FishfinderOntario6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,464
    4,704
    1,247
    218
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The other San Antonio attraction”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

San Antonio is known for two landmarks; the Alamo and the Riverwalk. As with many riparian zones, it is a few degrees cooler by the river. There are also many shops and restaurants. On the plus side, it is very pleasant to stroll along the river especially during the warmer weather. On the negative side, it can be very crowded. You will likely be jostled by joggers and other exercise enthusiasts. Nonetheless, this is a major tourist attraction that should be visited-once.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“experience varies”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Keep in mind that the river walk has been expanded to go from roughly the Pearl and art museum north of downtown, to the missions 10 miles south of downtown. The experience varies depending on location and time of day.

Downtown: Once you approach dinner time, the downtown part of the river walk is packed with people, and it stays that way well into the evening, and quite late on weekends. There can also be noisy late night partiers. In this area, the River Walk is primarily access to restaurants, bars and hotels.

Mission area: The atmosphere is more of an outdoor biking and walking park. There aren't many trees, so watch out for heat and sunburn. The missions are about 3 miles apart, so it might be practical to bike between them, but too far to walk.

North: I found this area to be very pretty. I enjoyed the public art and water features. There were interesting signs on the history of the river, and we enjoyed watching the river boats go through the lock and dam system.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, new jersey
Level Contributor
344 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The river walk is very scenic that consist of many places to eat and small gift shops. We arrived at the river walk around 9:00am and it was fairly empty. By the time lunch time came around it was packed. There are many places to eat of which most had outside seating. The weather was great for early November (66 degrees) considering I'm from New Jersey.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peter194940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Dia de los Muertos”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Didn't plan on being there for the Dia de los Muertos celebration and it was crowded. It was worth the good meals at Saltgrass Steakhouse and Barriba Cantina

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Walk also viewed

 

Been to River Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing