We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dia de los Muertos”
Review of River Walk

River Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.99*
and up
San Antonio River Walk Cruise, Hop-On Hop-Off Tour, and The Battle For Texas...
Ranked #1 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paseo del Rio is San Antonio's favorite attraction. You can shop, dine, lounge in a cafe, or simply stroll along and let the strumming mariachi soothe your spirit.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Dia de los Muertos”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Didn't plan on being there for the Dia de los Muertos celebration and it was crowded. It was worth the good meals at Saltgrass Steakhouse and Barriba Cantina

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,464
    4,704
    1,247
    218
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
248 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Charming, Unique Place”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The River Walk in San Antonio is beautiful and interesting. It is lined with restaurants and shops and many nice hotels are located along the walkway. I visited it in the daytime and in the evening and found it to be charming. I noticed the presence of policemen each time I visited and appreciated that they were there. At nighttime the sidewalks can be crowded. I gave the River Walk a 4 star rating because in places, the sidewalk is narrow and there is no railing along the river, so a person could actually fall into the river when trying to navigate along the sidewalk if it is crowded.

River tours are available, but you will need to get tour information from your concierge in order to book one. It is not a walk-up, first come, first served situation like I expected. I would have taken a river tour, but because I couldn't readily find the information about how to do it, I didn't pursue it.

I recommend doing your research on restaurants on the River Walk. I went to a couple restaurants there because of the convenience, but quickly found better restaurants and food within walking distance away from the River Walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stroll by”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Good place to walk around, good views, nice buildings. Overall a very nice atmosphere. Several restaurants, and a interesting paid boat ride.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RafaGili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful time”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are so many restaurants and things to do down on the Riverwalk! I just wish I was in SA long enough to enjoy several of the restaurants and bars located in this part of town. The water was nice and wasn't smelly (I was scared that it would smell a little). It is also in walking distance to the Alamo. If you make it to SA get down to the Riverwalk!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice walking experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Of course you have to go to the Riverwalk when visiting San Antonio. We went and had a great time. Make sure you wear a great pair of shoes. We went in October when it is low crowds so it wasn't as tightly packed as it can be. We recommend going during down time so you can actually experience it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Walk also viewed

 

Been to River Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing