We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Disney for adults”
Review of River Walk

River Walk
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$52.99*
and up
San Antonio River Walk Cruise, Hop-On Hop-Off Tour, and The Battle For Texas...
Ranked #1 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Paseo del Rio is San Antonio's favorite attraction. You can shop, dine, lounge in a cafe, or simply stroll along and let the strumming mariachi soothe your spirit.
East Coast USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like Disney for adults”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

An oasis for those wanting to just sit back and sip a good margarita (or three.) Plenty of options for food and drink. Mature landscaping and regional architecture make it feel like it's been around for centuries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tuff2pleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,715
    4,813
    1,273
    225
    79
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great time - the boat ride is a must (cheap and great info).”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first visit to San Antonio. I would guarantee that it won't be the last! Absolutely loved the River Walk area. If you have never been there book a hotel right there on the river. I promise it will keep you busy for several days without even leaving the area. There are TONS of stuff to see and do...clubs, shops, hotels, restaurants, music - just amazing. What a fun time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a place over looking the river walk. Above the river walk is s different world. The walk is clean and pleasant to the eye. Above is different in my view. I felt safe above but it is not always pleasant to look at. Enjoyed watching the riverboats going by filled with tourist. All kinds of eateries for any and all tastes. If you like to shop this is your place. I probably won't be back but if I do I will definitely visit the river walk.

Helpful?
Thank jdrmmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty walk”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

There was not much to see in this area, and just a few shops, but mostly eating establishments. Food prices were reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank enr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loved it but difficult if you're in a wheelchair”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was a beautiful area and fun to explore. Once you reach the Riverwalk it was fairly easy to navigate in a manual wheelchair. Getting there was the difficult part. There are elevators in some locations but they are difficult to find now because there is so much construction going on. Many of the areas are blocked off and detoured but you can't take the steps so you have to backtrack and find another route. The sidewalks getting to the Riverwalk can be steep, some are at dangerous angles, and they were in poor condition. This made it difficult for a manual wheelchair. I was surprised by the number of homeless people on the sidewalks but they have strict panhandling laws so we weren't approached. It was sad to see so many empty buildings and homeless in the area surrounding the Riverwalk

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Walk also viewed

 

Been to River Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing