We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of animals to see”
Review of San Antonio Zoo

San Antonio Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.99*
and up
San Antonio Zoo General Admission
Ranked #24 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With more than 8,500 animals on 56 acres, there's plenty of fun for the whole family. The San Antonio Zoo was first established with a donation from George W. Brackenridg in the 1800s. Two of the first cageless exhibits in the U.S. opened here in 1929 and the bird collection is one of the world's largest.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lot of animals to see”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The San Antonio Zoo is huge so make sure you alot about 3 hours to see everything. The day we went was very sunny and cool and the animals were all out playing. Everyone that worked there were very helpful and informative. The man who works at the entry handing out the maps was very nice and gave us all kinds of tips but let us know they had 2 new baby tigers. Sure enough the babies were out playing with their mother. The way the zoo in incorporated into the natural landscape and rock of the area makes it seem like you are really visiting the animal's true environments.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank curly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    467
    171
    56
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
577 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“This place is a joke”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Like most folks have said the animals looked in poor shape. Would hate to see a zoo in worse shape than this one.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank matjaz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible place for animals”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

.The animals were in habitats that were not suitable for the kind of animals that were in there. Rocks? Really?? For an animal that is suppose to be in the forest!!! It was July when I went there with my mother and the animals had NO water in their troughs or 'streams' it was horrible. The animals looked sad and I wanted to take them out of there and put them back where the should be. When I get older I want to work in a zoo and I would never work there in a million years unless they let me fix about hundred things

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chug down Memory Lane”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First and foremost you have to ride the train for kids and Bigger kids it takes you back to nature. Once the ride ends the awesomeness really begins, so much to see overloads the eyes, ears and cameras(go digital and bring plenty of batteries), My wife and I made this place our 5th outing on a trip that spanned 11 other sites in San Antonio, Texas. We had a blast and took some great shoots that made some great post cards, thanks to : Post Cards On The Run App. So if you've been to the zoo a time are two don't overlook this gem of an experience that can't be missed........

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank P3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This zoo is a travasty!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I'm sorry that I cannot in all honesty, share with the many 4-5 star opinions.

We went to this poor excuse for an animal showcase the day after Christmas, hoping for an enjoyable day. We came away sad at the way the animals are housed and displayed. The various ponds and streams were green and completely unhealthy looking with much dead foliage that had dropped in along with other floating and unidentified debris. The hippos were forced to try and stand on a 45 degree slope and that water too was putrid looking. There was no grass on the bare and stepped habitats (dirt? concrete? or?) nor much cover even on a 52 degree day - makes me wonder what a 100+ degree summers San Antonio day would be like for them. For a couple examples - the two porcupines had no no drinking water, the elephant pit had several piles of poo. The entry price is reasonable though food and souvenirs are very expensive. Oh yeah, it was dirty too.

I guess this zoo is most likely a victim of the times - not enough dollars to run it effectively and attractively.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JDW04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Antonio Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing