We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handicap access is terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Zoo

San Antonio Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.99*
and up
San Antonio Zoo General Admission
Ranked #25 of 262 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With more than 8,500 animals on 56 acres, there's plenty of fun for the whole family. The San Antonio Zoo was first established with a donation from George W. Brackenridg in the 1800s. Two of the first cageless exhibits in the U.S. opened here in 1929 and the bird collection is one of the world's largest.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Handicap access is terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The zoo itself is OK...about average for a big city zoo. But the parking and availability for elderly and handicapped folks is abysmal. I am elderly, but not handicapped in any way, but after a 3/4 mile walk from the parking lot to the zoo entrance, I was worn out, and couldn't complete a tour of the entire zoo. This place needs to add a parking lot bus, or something. While leaving, I saw an elderly couple struggling to make it from the lot to the entrance in the 92 degree heat, and offered them a ride. That shouldn't be happening. The zoo should take care of their customers, as much as their animals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank elkayandboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    431
    164
    53
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I like this zoo, but some of the animals were not available and I have no reason why. My daughter was looking forward to seeing them and they were just not there. It is a great visit and my 3 year loved it! As with any zoo, everything is so overpriced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Fun at its BEST!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

They have everything at this zoo. It is clean and the landscape is beautiful. Nothing to dislike about this place. It is a must see on your next visit to San Antonio!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not the best I've seen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We took our 3 year old grandson to the zoo expecting a first rate zoo. On our visit, a large area was blocked off and we felt that there was a need for some updating along the pathways. On the plus side our grandson enjoyed the aquarium and we enjoyed the bird displays. I spoke with some of the caregivers and they were quite willing to answer questions. However, some did not know enough to answer and had to find others to ask. The day was overcast and partly sunny. Perhaps that contributed to some of the listlessness of the animals. Being a Tuesday, perhaps that contributed to many of the food service areas being closed. So, we did not purchase any beverages.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Presentation of Animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This zoo put a lot of time into design and construction of the exhibits, have them grouped into appropriate themes, and they aren't spaced too far apart...

We had hoped to go again this week when things were cooler and the animals were more active (unfortunately we didn't get a chance), but it was still a very pleasant visit in June, in spite of the heat, and was well worth it...

Visited June 2012
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Zoo also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing