We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alamo”
Review of The Alamo

The Alamo
Ranked #2 of 227 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1718 as Mission San Antonio de Valero, for over 300 years the former mission now known as the Alamo has been a crossroads of history. Having existed under six flags of independent nations and served as a garrison for five different armies, the Alamo has a rich history and a heritage to inspire Texans and people around the world. Although the Alamo is best known as the site of the 1836 Battle of the Alamo, all 300 years of Alamo history are vital to our story. Visitors can take a guided battlefield tour, rent a self-guided audio tour, walk through the historic Alamo Church and Long Barrack Museum, listen to a history talk given by an Alamo Interpreter, participate in living history demonstrations, watch a documentary on the history of the Alamo, and much more. Admission to the Alamo is free, but there is a charge for guided and audio tours.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Smaller than I imagined but extremely informative. The Long Barracks and the Alamo contained Crocket rifles, the Travis Ring, the Houston Snuff Box given to him by the Santa Anna family and other historic items. A very worthwhile trip

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 935 reviews
"gift shop"
in 973 reviews
"texas history"
in 993 reviews
"long barracks"
in 301 reviews
"piece of history"
in 399 reviews
"across the street"
in 393 reviews
"davy crockett"
in 205 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 214 reviews
"historic place"
in 169 reviews
"great history"
in 338 reviews
"love history"
in 182 reviews
"bucket list"
in 185 reviews
"lots of history"
in 238 reviews
"history lesson"
in 197 reviews
"take pictures"
in 208 reviews
"the river walk"
in 418 reviews
"alamo"
in 10,003 reviews
Filter

13,479 - 13,483 of 16,925 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Everyone should visit the Alamo and learn the story of Texas Independence and hear the stories of the participants in this epic struggle for Texas and Liberty. The Long Barracks has been converted into a beautiful museum containing priceless relics of the battle. It gave me chills to read the stories and think about the price paid by our ancestors for the freedoms we take for granted every day. After visiting the Alamo, you'll look at Texas with great admiration.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank WorldtravelerMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I think the service is great ,, well organize and great experience for my children and for all the family

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was thrilled to see this piece of history because I've heard so much about it through my life time. I guess my expectations were set high. There is not much to see here. The Alamo is much smaller than I ever would have imagined. There are some interesting artifacts inside donated by the families of Crockett and Bowie. Those were fun to see. The grounds are beautiful and a nice place to sit and reflect. There was a gentleman talking inside to a group but we couldn't hear him for all the noise other people were making. Outside are earphone tours you can purchase but we didn't do that.

The admission is free but you can purchase the informative tours and a photographer takes your photo in front of the building. You get a card with your photo number on it and you can view it online and purchase it. Our number was incorrect but I sent a note to the website on the card and they told me how I could find it. I was able to find it.

This is a must see just because it's part of our history.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank lakelovinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Take the time to drag yourself away from all the fun and gaiety of the Riverwalk area to visit these hallowed grounds. Take your time to walk through and read all the displays. Your children need to know about the sacrifices that were made and the heavy toll that was paid by so many brave souls.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank maryIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alamo also viewed

 

Been to The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing