We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex-Mex Lives Here”

Papa Nacho's Cantina
Ranked #345 of 4,628 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
739 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex Lives Here”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Another lunch to brag about in a continuing series of good meals here. Nothing but m-m-m-m-s and y-u-m-m-m-s were heard as the queso and chips, cheese stuffed chile relleno, beef and cheese enchiladas and enchiladas chipotles were consumed with minimal interruptions from the attentive waitress.
It's funny, but I used to think of restaurants that were situated inside a hotel or were part of a shopping center or strip mall were products of their environment. That is to say, one probably wouldn't exist without the other. And I also equated this symbiotic relationship as an indicator of lower food quality establishments. I am happy to say that I am having to change my perspective on that over the past decade as I have had some very good meals in each.
PNC falls in the shopping center category, but the big stand-alone restaurants have nothing on it for convenience, quality, taste and service. Come as you may. Come as you are. The welcome mat stays out and a sign that should be hung over the door says, "(Great) Tex-Mex lives here."

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, great service.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

First of all this restaurant is not in San Antonio, but is in Leon Springs about 10 miles north of S.A. The food is good, a bit overpriced, the service was great and the atmosphere is comfortable. I would recommend Las Platypus which is next door.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is an easy place to miss and looks more like a cheesy chain restaurant but don't be fooled. The food is great and the service is impeccable. A handy and really good place to eat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good overall”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I love the spinach enchiladas this place serves, always good, always reasonably priced. Iced tea is about $3 with no refills. Big disappointment!! Love it overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diamondmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, tx
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday I had the grilled filet of Mahi Mahi w/poblano creme sauce at lunch & it was absolutely perfectly grilled. The poblano sauce that they make there is the best I've had so far anywhere in San Antonio. I've also had the chicken enchiladas w/green creme sauce & many more dishes there, each excellently prepared & very abundant. I recommend that if if you want very authentic TEX-MEX food, try this place. They also have another location on IH10 West. They have a very extensive menu & the service at both locations is excellent. Currently my top choice for TEX-MEX food in San Antonio.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank texanbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Nacho's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Papa Nacho's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing