We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountainair, N Mex, area and Salinas NM”

Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
topeka, kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mountainair, N Mex, area and Salinas NM”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

have visited these ruins since 1970's-always a great experience.
FYI-a book titled "Symbolism of Petroglyphs and Pictographs Near Mountainair, New Mexico, the Gateway to Ancient Ruins" is now available on Amazon or at rowepub.com-by Susan A Holland with photography by Mike Rooney--check it out!! Outstanding color pictures!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    26
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salinas National Monument...always worth the trip”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument, three, far-flung, diverse, & off-the-beaten-path sites are worth the time & trip it takes to get to them. They are historically important for the roles they played in the interaction between the native populations and the Spanish newcomers in the 17th century. Gran Quivera, 25 miles south of the town of Mountainair, sports an attractive, new Visitors Center. Abo and Quarai are very photogenic, & Quarai, located in a relatively lush, low-lying area, with trees & native grasses, near the village of Manzano, makes a nice day-trip destination from Albuquerque or Santa Fe. Bring a picnic lunch (& water!).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only had time to visit and hike around one of the there sights of the Salinas Publoes called Quarai Ruins. The old church and seperate mission buildings were beautiful. The park office has a nice path to walk the ruins and there is a nice one mile hike above the hill looking down on the ruins. We spent about an hour and enjoyed the amazing views. You can also picnic at this location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must-See”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We've visited all the sites and found them to be beautiful and educational. The site staff is great at all three, and I would recommend the trip. It's definitely worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Visit to Abo mission”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Unfortunately, we only had time to do the Abo mission. We took a detour off the interstate, and drove around 45 minutes on a two-lane highway to get to Abo. As we got closer, the drive got pretty with going through a few hills.
Abo was a bit bigger than I envisioned. It's mostly in ruin, with some walls still standing. You can walk on a path through the ruins, which is a neat experience. There's even a kiva, which historians aren't sure what it was used for. Maybe as a way to get the Indians to convert.
After walking through the ruins, we took the short paved trail that makes a loop around the mission grounds. More great photo ops, taking pictures of Abo ruins from a distance. The trail ends near a few other buildings in ruins, and the brochure I had picked up for the walk said they are old ranch buildings from people settling in the area after the Indians left the mission.
There's a nice and shaded picnic area, and a tiny visitor's center with a ranger or two on hand. The visitor center does have the National Parks passport stamps. There's a restroom, but it has vault toilets.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing