We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great old House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

The Coach House is a lovely old house converted into a B&B. The rooms are nicely decorated in period style and breakfast is fantastic - delivered to the room in a wicker basket!

The owner was really helpful, and the only downside was the 15min walk to central Salem (9 blocks) and the setting on a main road - although this makes finding the Coach House really easy. We enjoyed our stay and would definetely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    40
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
91
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

My daughter and I spent nine nights at the Inn and enjoyed every minute. We felt the atmosphere was very cozy and friendly. Pat, the innkeeper ,made us feel right at home and was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. We had no trouble sleeping on the mattresses and didn't find them uncomfortable at all. While downtown is not just a block away, it is in walking distance. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Friendly service and the breakfast
  • Disliked — Traffic could be a little noisy
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livermore, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

The Coach House Inn in Salem is a beautiful home. We have stayed at alot of B&B's in California so we compare to those. This inn is on a very busy street and is very noisy.It is not within walking distance to any attractions. The woman who greeted us was very warm and friendly. There is plenty of parking. We really missed a parlor and evening snacks and wine or tea. There is nothing like that here.The rooms are very clean and decorated nicely. The mattresses were a horror, very hard and uncomfortable. As I mentioned before, it was very noisy from street traffic, and we had a difficult time sleeping. The breakfast was freshly baked muffins and croissant with juice. It was very good but nothing really special. All in all I would say this Inn is really nice but nothing special. I would probably spend a little more and stay at the Hawthorne Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcmerrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2005

I found this b&b to be fantastic..me and my mom stayed there for a week and found it to be very charming.it was like walking back intime.We had a thunderstorm the first night so, it fit right in.The owner was very gracious.Also to go against some reviews, it was walking distance to most things.Once you got to downtown you just hop on the trolley.The breakfast basket was a great touch.LOOKED FOR IT EVERY MORNING.The inside as well as out was beautifully decorated..Kinda like walkin into the titanic.Very elegant.Thank you so much for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2001
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2004

After reading the reviews and looking at the web site I thought that this would be a great place to spend the last two night of our 2 week trip of a life time to New England to see the fall colors. That wasn't quite the way it turned out. When we drove up the outside appearance was quite shabby, in fact I really didn't want to go inside. Happily, the interior was in much better condition, with the exception of the mattress. It was the most uncomfortable 2 nights of the entire trip. The room was nicely decorated, that bathroom very small, but spotless and the breakfast basket was nice. Walking to anything is not an option, and driving in Salem is an interesting experience. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2004

My husband and I recently visited Salem, Mass. and stayed at this bed and breakfast. I can not say enough good things about our stay there. It was warm and cozy. Our room was clean and tidy. The innkeeper was fantastic...she made us feel so at home. Every morning a beautiful breakfast basket was left at our door. It was so fun to see what was in that basket. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2004

Our visit was in 2002. It was our first stay at a B&B and probably the last. It is a beautiful place, we had a 2 bedroom suite. I had always heard how friendly owners and staff at B&B's are, but that wasn't our experience. The staff was friendly enough, but the owner was surly. It was probably our fault because we had made the reservation for 2 adults, 2 children and the night before we left home, we unexpectedly ended up with an extra child. The owner was outside when we pulled in the parking lot and jumped on us as we were getting out of the car about having an extra person and the fact that we would not be getting anything extra for the breakfast since we had not notified of the change. That was fine since there was plenty for everyone anyways. We felt very uncomfortable the whole time we were there though - afraid to come out of the room and run into the owner. We had a hard time finding the Inn and it's not walking distance to any of the museums or tourist attractions in Salem.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CLEMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.8 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.9 mi away
Salem Inn
Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Property: Coach House Inn
Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing