We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Coach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came in early November, and still couldn't find a place in town to stay that was affordable and had any rooms available! We ended up booking here sort of our of default, but it was great and we will definitely come again!
Very cute and clean, with the sweetest little basket of breakfast goodies each morning outside your door (fruit, croissants, muffins)! In very cold or rainy weather it's a bit of a walk to the downtown tourist attractions (about 20 minutes), but if you don't mind walking it's fine, and if you drive, there is a very centrally located garage in town for 25 cents an hour!

This was a lovely place to stay, and they even give free tickets to the witch museum, as well as any advice about restaurants, things to do, etc., that you need.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lost11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 190 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staying at the Coach House Inn was the perfect decision. We just arrived home from a 5 night stay and I couldn't be happier. I especially liked that breakfast was brought to our door at 8:30 AM, we didn't have to be up and dressed and at a table like good little boys and girls. We slept in and ate our croissants, muffins, sweet treats, and fruit in bed. Bottled water is provided in the room and replenished daily. The Inn is a 15 minute walk down to downtown Salem, and the walk is great. There are so many old houses to stop and admire, and the Coach house is an excellent example of victorian architecture - it is beautiful. The proprietress was very friendly, it was a pleasure to meet her. She was attentive and always available. Exploring Salem was really fun, so many people showed up for Halloween.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanNevermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This bed and breakfast was really charming. It's close to downtown Salem but not too close. The house is beautiful, the rooms are really quaint. The breakfast was a picnic basket of croissants, muffins, etc., with juice and a nice variety of fruit. The owner is really great. She was very helpful in providing info on what to do, where to go, how to get there. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and I have no complaints. I believe there are three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Couch House Inn and we had a wonderful experience. Pat is extremely friendly and was happy to answer our questions and give us suggestions regarding our vacation in Salem. Our room, #27, was immaculate and had a private bathroom and fire place. The picnic basket breakfast delivered to our room every morning was perfect - pastries, fruit, OJ, and little chocolates.

As far as location, we were able to walk into Salem everyday with no problems. It is only about a 10 minute walk from the Inn.

We both hope to return to Salem someday and we plan to stay here again! Thank you Pat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whisper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For the second year in a row, we absolutely LOVED our stay at the Coach House Inn. Pat welcomed us back for a six-night stay. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast brought to our door. Then we ventured into the city (on foot) at least twice a day. The walk is easy and more fun than driving downtown. Trust me, you'll be glad you aren't staying any closer to the traffic and insanity of Halloween revelers. But we were here for all thing spooky and Pat helped make our stay a blast. I got a bit teary-eyed having to say goodbye. We'll be back for round 3!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haller4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

First of all, I've never seen a B&B with a full range installed! Looked more like a boarding house than a bed and breakfast. Place was clean enough, but smelled like gas. Could have been coming from the stove, or oven? The decor was definitely from years past, old wallpaper, bed comforters, etc.. The bathroom was clean though. Inn keeper wasn't too friendly towards us. Not very inviting at all. Left early the next morning for a flight, so no review of the continental breakfast. Would I recommend this place to others, absolutely not. Hawthorne Hotel is supposedly the nicest place in Salem, but they would not let a room for a one night stay..........

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Baer 09,
It is not unusual to find a kitchenette in a B&B and in many fine hotel rooms across the country. In our case, the kitchenette is discreetly hidden behind louvre doors and is not an intrusive presence in the room. Since the range has been disconnected for a number of years I can't account for the gas smell you thought you detected.

There are many photos posted on Trip Advisor by guests that have stayed with us, which depict an accurate view of the decor. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we wish you well in your travels.

Sincerely,
Patricia Kessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My room at this inn was quite nice, although somewhat noisy from street noise. The designation "b&b" for the inn is a misnomer,though, as there is no dining room or sitting area. The bed was comfy and the fresh fruit tasty. Breakfast was a bit of a picnic from a basket, which I ate on a tv tray in my room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paradox1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Paradox 1995,

Thank you for your comments. The designation B&B for our Inn is not a misnomer. For example, the Wikipedia definition of a bed and breakfast says, "breakfast is served in the bedroom, a dining room, or the host's kitchen".

The "tv tray" you reference is actually a replica of a hand painted metal tray reminiscent of the Victorian era.

We wish you well in your travels.

Kind regards,
Patricia Kessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 9 in Danvers
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $105 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing