We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Coach House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A wonderful bed and breakfast. Clean large rooms and located right in the middle of everything. If it hadn't been so hot we could have walked everywhere. Our hostess Pat gave us a lot of helpful hints and guide books. Breakfast was delivered to our room at 8:30 in a wonderful basket it was nice but I would have preferred to eat with the other guests and meet them.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms are wonderful. We stayed on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeank247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 190 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Beautifully decorated Victorian Inn, walking distance to the Salem downtown area attractions and the waterfront. Our room was very spacious, clean, and included a small breakfast nook with fridge. Continental breakfast each morning consisted of a picnic basket of delicious baked goods, fresh fruit, as well as juice & coffee. Altogether, very reasonably priced. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband, daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Coach House a few weeks ago. The room was very clean and comfortable for the 3 of us. We enjoyed the "picnic basket breakfast" each morning filled with warm croissant's, muffin's, fruit, juice & chocolate's! The owner was very helpful with maps and information on site' s to visit. We hope to return some time and would recommend the Coach House. Thank you Pat for your kind hospitality!!
The Lindberg's
Coon Rapids, MN

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if you do not want to carry bags up too many steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It would be nice to have a 'gathering' room for either visiting or eating: everyone is 'segregated' solely in their rooms, not typical of B&B's.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear MLB, Thank you for your comment. Our guests' comfort and enjoyment is our primary focus. We like to think breakfast in your room is a luxury! We are very sorry you were disappointed with your experience, and wish you the best in your travels.
Kind regards,
Patricia Kessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed two nights in this lovely old Victorian home in Salem. Pat, the host, was helpful and her advice helped me choose a place to have dinner my first night. The binder in the foyer had menus from many of the area restaurants. My room, on the third floor, was just charming and cozy, though the mattress was a bit firmer than I'd have liked.
Nice place in a nice neighborhood, and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equestrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Coach House Inn is located just outside Salem's village center. We were very warmly welcomed and hosted by our sweet landlady Pat. She even served a rich breakfast basket at the rooms. Every room is differently decorated and has its own beauty. The entire house and the atmosphere let you go back in time and gives you some kind of a nice historical experience. Price-value is very reasonable for the area. Totally recommend the Coach House Inn for Singles, Couples or small families.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonesT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The two of us stayed here for 7 nights and it was pretty fantastic. My only complaint was the super hard mattress, we would toss and turn all night and wake up sore and tired and one of the cleaning girls took it upon herself to move some of our things in the room and throw away some leftovers. The owner was very apologetic and she took care of the issue immediately.

The outside of the inn is gorgeous and green, lots of well-cared for plants, grass and trees. The inside is well kept and clean and looks just like an old Victorian with the wall papered rooms, the old furniture and great antique lighting fixtures. The owner was warm and welcoming, she stood and talked with us multiple times along the trip. She was open and honest and gave us great tips about the town and what to do and what to avoid. We got free passes to the Salem Witch Museum which was an awesome bonus. There are rooms available here that have kitchenettes, private bathrooms and shared bathrooms.

The breakfasts became a little much and a little repetitive for us but we aren't used to heavy breakfasts. There were usually 2 croissants, 2 muffins and a special sweet pastry, a few little jams and butters, a bowl of fruit like strawberries or pineapple, an apple or pear, a banana and 2 cups of orange juice with some plastic-ware. It was truly enough for 4 people. There was coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the room with cream and sugar and sugar substitutes. Our room also had a sink (with soap but no towel to dry off) and a refrigerator. The bathroom was just outside and I only wish there had been a shelf or something inside the shower to put my things instead of on the floor.
We were happy to find that there was an awesome pizza parlor (Christina's) 2 blocks away as well as a convenience store. And though The Coach House was on a busy road we never noticed the traffic and ended up being thankful that we didn't stay any closer to all the Halloween commotion, we wouldn't have been able to sleep at all with all the noise. The walk to the attractions was 20 minutes usually and the trolly and taxis were always available, though we didn't need them. We were very pleased with the stay here and especially the kindness and warmth of the owner.

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayDen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 284 Lafayette St, Salem, MA 01970-5462
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $105 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing