We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Kushco

Cafe Kushco
Ranked #65 of 231 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Driving through Salem around noon needing a place to eat. Happened to walk by this restaurant and saw the Tripadvisor badge on the door. Saw the menu for sandwiches, salads and soup. After looking at menu and lots of options that sounded good, we each picked a half sandwich and a salad. Both of our meals were GREAT, and they were large enough servings we could have split and had more than enough for a nice light lunch. VERY reasonably priced. Absolutely would recommend and will return, if we get back this way again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great sandwich shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

While seeing the sites in Salem one day with out of town guests, I ventured into Kushco for a quick lunch. That decision proved to be one of the best ones of the day! The menu is extensive and very eclectic. There were so many intriguing soup/salad/sandwich/wrap selections to choose from! The sandwiches and salads that we finally decided upon were nothing short of excellent! Fresh tasty, ingredients prepared artfully at a reasonable price. The service was friendly as well, as they were quite patient with us as we deliberated on what to order. I really wish this place was closer to home, as I would be a frequent patron for sure. If you are looking for a quick, inexpensive meal in Salem, look no further than Kushco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPMNashua_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Good eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was in Salem for a wedding, and rented a condo across the street from Kushco. Went there for a quick lunch, ordered the chicken portobello mushroom sandwich and chicken lemon soup. The soup was delicious and the sandwich was the best sandwich I've ever eaten. I went back the next day and had the same thing, and it was just as delicious. The sandwich is huge, definitely enough for 2 people. The girls at the counter are lovely. If I ever get back to Salem I will definitely go back there. The salads are also outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Cafe Kushco has great frozen yogurt and amazing sandwiches. I haven't gone there as much as I would like to, but from what I've had there it's a good place to go!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yogurt is great. Food is above average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Frozen yogurt is great! Other foods were above average. Nestled in downtown Salem among lots of good eateries!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kushco also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Kushco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing