We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curwen House location”
Review of The Salem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salem Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Curwen House location”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Salem Inn consists of three locations. After struggling through traffic to find parking in a small driveway at the Salem Inn, we were quickly registered and sent on our way to the Curwen House, about 3 blocks from the main Salem Inn. Fortunately, there was an ample parking lot with available spaces there. We had been given a key that unlocked both the front door and our room (hmmm--does that mean everyone with a key to the front door also had access to our room??). There was no one at Curwen House to assist us with bags, so we hefted them up two very steep flights of stairs.

Our room was in the front, with a street view, but not too noisy. All the basics were in the room, but it was not plush or romantic by any means. There was a phone, in case we wanted to call the Salem Inn for assistance. There was a TV, but we were never able to get it to work. The cord on the coffee maker did not reach the closest plug, so we temporarily relocated it to the nightstand in order to use it. We had 1 washcloth, no shower mat (so my hubby slipped in the wet shower & hurt his foot), the claw foot tub was balanced on 4 very small wooden blocks and was rusted around the drain--not too inviting, and the hair dryer was stored on the floor of the bathroom. Luckily the air conditioning worked. One nice touch was a carafe of complimentary port--located on the first floor. The ice machine was also located down on the first floor. Overall decor gets a "C"--not particularly warm and inviting, or of a specific design period.

Breakfast was provided--back at the Salem Inn. It was adequate with cereal, rolls/muffins, melon slices, juice, coffee, tea, and something cold that resembled quiche and was fairly tasteless. There was an attendant on duty--our first employee we encountered since our registration the day before--but she didn't respond much to anything we said so we were not sure if she spoke English or was just shy. ("C" for food)

Strangely, during our 2 night stay, we never came in contact with any employees or guests at the Curwen House--a bit spooky considering how big this house appears to be.

On the plus side, this location is an easy walk to the main tourist area in Salem, across the street from a trolley stop so we could ride to many area attractions, and around the corner from a lovely residential street. So if it's location you are seeking, these inns might work for you. ("A" for location)

Room Tip: Ask for lower level if you have a problem with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    190
    78
    51
    60
See reviews for
153
287
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's within walking distance of just about everything. We booked one of the package deals and had a nice bit of history thrown in with the 'ghost' tour which was wonderful. The Inn offers port for the guests which is lovely. The beds weren't as comfortable as I'd like but I've got a bad back so I'm not the easiest to please as far as beds go. All in all, a great place.

Room Tip: Watch the GPS and the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiloh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

i spent a week in the salem inn enjoyed my time there the bed was comfortable, food was good
good housekeeping it is in walking distance of attractions, there are stairs and no elevator but overall a good and reasonably place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spooky old inn with all the modern conveniences! Walking distance to Salem's attractions and events! We enjoyed our stay in room 40. But if you stay there, be prepared... No elevator and a steep, narrow staircase. Hard work with heavy bags!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluWater1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was actually comprised of multiple unattached (on the inside) buildings over a couple of blocks. Very limited parking a couple of blocks from our building. With torrential rains and not wanting to unload every thing from the car for a one night stay, that was problematic. In our reservation I had asked for a 1st floor room due to mobility issues. There was no reply asking the extent of my mobility issues. The entry steps were a challenge even for my athletic husband...especially with suitcases..thank heavens we packed lightly. First the steps to check in and then down the street and the worse steps up to the building with our room. Fortunately it was the first floor. The stairs up to the upper levels were dangerously steep and very winding staircases. The room was spacious but poorly laid out. A tiny tv 20' from the bed..no line of sight from the loveseat or chair. Not very visible from the bed and the bed was rather soft....hard to do anything but lie flat.

Didn't even stay for breakfast...more steep stairs in another building. Rather than duplicate the steps several times we decided to look for a comfortable place to sit and eat.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the first floor to eliminate hauling bags. Pack very lightly and leave nothing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuefromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special , when we booked we thought we were staying in the Salem inn only to be told on arrival that we were actually staying in a b&b 2 blocks away, Curwin House, more of a bed sit than a b & b ,
We were on the ground floor and the only way I can describe the noise that came from above us as to that of "A herd of wild Wildebeast sweeping majestically across the plains", couldn't be bothered contacting reception as we were pretty much out of there early next morning, nothing really wrong with the place but if I wanted a b&b 2 blocks from where I originally booked I could have done that myself, also for what i paid for a superior room I felt rather expensive for what I got, didn't bother with the breakfast as it was hammering down with rain, ( not the b&b's fault ) but if we were in the b&b that we had booked there would not have been a problem, breakfast only serves in the Salem inn !!!
Would not use again,
Eagerly awaiting the owners most defensive response......

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nedthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were two couples travelling together and had the 2-bed, 2-bath "apartment" in the Peabody house.

Having just arrived on a long flight from the UK, we were greeted by pleasant staff and checked in without any issues. There is parking behind Peabody house so we were able to get our car off the street, and didn't use it again until we left after our 2-night stay.

The Inn (made up of three different buildings) is centrally located and all that Salem has to offer is within easy walking distance. The buildings are old and as such rooms are not your average "chain motel" standard, but this is the very reason we booked here.

Our apartment was great - two large bedrooms and bathrooms, a good-sized lounge/dining area and kitchenette with huge fridge/freezer, coffee maker and microwave/oven/hotplate combo. There is (rather oddly) a single bed in the lounge which pulls out to a double, so I guess the apartment could sleep 6, but there was really only room for 4 to sit in comfort. However, for 4 people it is absolutely fine - plenty of room for all. The only thing to bear in mind if you have this room is that it right at the top of the house, so you have to carry your bags up several flights of stairs.

Breakfast was in the basement of the main building (a couple of doors down from Peabody) and was fine. Bagels with various toppings, bread, cereals, muffins etc. Toasters are available to make your own toast or to toast the bagels. Coffee was lovely and plentiful.

All-in-all a great place with an historic feel without being too "chintzy" or ancient!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Keeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sarah-Keeling,
Thank you for your kind, thoughtful review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your two night stay in Room #6, the spacious 2 bedroom family suite located in our historic 1874 Peabody House. We look forward to welcoming you when you visit from England again.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
0.1 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Property: The Salem Inn
Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing