We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy?? No refunds that's policy.”
Review of The Salem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salem Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hurricane Sandy?? No refunds that's policy.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My daughter and I booked in March for a 3 night stay to coincide with Halloween 2012. We had to pay the FULL amount in order to secure a booking.
We have been planning and getting excited for weeks and now the time has come out flight has been cancelled due to Hurricane Sandy. We were prepared to change our booking for the same time next year, but are told we can only book until April 2013. We would therefore like our money refunded minus maybe a small administrative amount, but NO that is their policy Hurricane Sandy or not.
I am contacting the Chamber of Commerce, but I shouldn't have to. Shame on you!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank seti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Seti 5,
I am extremely disappointed to hear how upset you are regarding our cancellation policy over Halloween (not unlike that of the other Salem hotels). Because we only have 40 rooms, and certainly would be able to fill them many times over in October, we have established our very strict cancellation policy. All our guests know about this at the time of booking, and sign a letter of agreement to the penalties for cancelled reservations. When my husband and I travel, we always purchase trip cancellation insurance, for a nominal fee, in case of any unforeseen events that might prevent us from traveling.
Under normal circumstances, if a Halloween reservation is cancelled by a guest, the entire deposit is forfeited with no future stay offered. Due to the weather circumstances, we have offered to allow a rebooking at no cost, within the date range you mention. In fact, we offered to extend the booking by an extra day at no additional cost. Most guests who did not come for Halloween have rebooked for a later date, as Salem has much, much to offer (attractions, shops, dining establishments, the wonderful National Park Historic site) all year round.
It turned out that the weather was lovely on Halloween, and the majority of our guests came the day of Halloween, rather than the previous stormy day, and then just stayed a day longer.
Regards,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    195
    79
    52
    60
See reviews for
156
295
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the main house on Summer Street. The room on the first floor was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The buffet style breakfast was nicely set out and adequate. The hotel is situated very centrally near the junction with Essex Street which means that most of the main attractions are a short level walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickadeecroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Chicadee,
Thanks for your succint but thorough comments and your five star review. It is very much appreciated.
Best regards, Diane Pabich
PS Chicadees are one of my favorite birds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Curwin House, one of the 3 houses that make up the Salem Inn. This is not your typical B&B, its more of an old-time hotel in a lovely old house (actually 3 houses!) filled with antiques. Breakfast was served around the corner in the main house - it was serve-yourself-style, plenty of choices and good food. The room was clean and charming, although the bed could have been more comfortable. The location is terrific - close to all the Salem attractions. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble with stairs, request a first-floor room. The winding stairs are charming, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Patricia,
We're delighted you enjoyed your recent October stay in our charming 1854 Curwen House, with its convenient location in the historic McIntyre neighborhood, adjacent to Salem's many museums, excellent restaurants and shops.
You are definitely the type of guest best suited for our Inn, as you appreciate older homes and antiques, and found your room clean and charming, and breakfast satisfying.
Thanks, too, for the warning to others about our many winding stairs. We always try to emphasize that anyone with difficulty with stairs should request a room on a lower floor.
Lastly, we will check out the bed, as we are in the process of replacing any mattress that may no longer be as comfortable as we require.
Thank you for your thoughtful review.
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When I booked our reservations to stay in Salem, Mass., many of the hotels and B&B's I'd called were already booked solid. So I was apprehensive when I discovered that the Salem Inn still had vacancies. Surely, it can't be very good if every other hotel in the area is full, but this place still had vacancies....could it? Wow, was I ever surprised! The Salem Inn is CHARMING, DARLING and SUPER COMFY! It's an old building, and the spiral staircase is a little lopsided, which only added to the charm. The room and bath were clean, the plumbing in perfect order, and the water pressure in the shower was most impressive! The street noise is a bit annoying, but anywhere in Salem in October is bound to be a bit loud (October in Salem is like New Orleans during Mardi Gras - a real party town!). We loved our room, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect: Just around the corner from Essex Street and close to everything: You can walk to all the Salem attractions from this place. A return trip to Salem will bring us back to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Kristine,
I can’t thank you enough for your excellent review. We’re so glad you really appreciated all the Salem Inn has to offer – history, charm, comfort, homey atmosphere, helpful staff, and marvelous location. You’re absolutely right on when you say Salem is a little bit like Mardi Gras in New Orleans, at least weekends in October, a fun and festive place to be.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I had a nice long weekend at the Salem Inn. We stayed in the Curwin house which was a 3 story inn. It was was very charming on the outside and more modern on the inside. We stayed on the third floor and had to walk up two flights of long steps. I was able to get my bag and my wife's up the step but would think it would be difficult for someone with limitations. The room was very nice and clean with a walk in shower. There was an ironing board with iron and a flat screen television. The bed was not the most comfortable. I have a bad back and I woke up the three nights with pain. But I've slept in much worse beds. I wasn't able to open the window and had no control over the temperature in the room. The first night it was very humid and warm at night and was sweating all night. The next two night the temperature came down to a normal fall day in Salem and had no problems.
The first night I was not able to park in their parking lot and had to park 10 minute walk away from the place. The next morning I went to get the car and there still was no spot but the person at the salem inn was able to find me a spot right in front of the inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We never tried their breakfast since we already have a favorite breakfast place in Salem. The inn was located near all the popular attractions and we never needed to drive anywhere since everything was walking distance. Overall is was a nice stay and would recommend the Salem Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salem1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Salem 1977,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at the Salem Inn. I'm glad you found your room at the Curwen House to be very nice, and clean, and appreciated the accompanying amenities. I'm sorry the bed did not suit your bad back, but as I've mentioned to others, we will be examining all beds during the off-season and replacing as needed.
I'm surprised you thought the temperature was too hot, as each room at Curwen has individual climate controls. However, it can be difficult in transitional seasons in New England to always know if the entire house should be in heat or A/C mode.
Our location really is the best, and I'm glad you found it to be so convenient and our staff friendly and helpful. We'd love to have you back, and when you do return, be sure and request a room on a lower floor, so you won't have to navigate so many flights of long steps. There were no elevators in 1854.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

1st time staying at a B&B/Inn. I knew it wasn't the Ritz but was surprised. It was nice, but room could have used a little more cleaning attention...mold in shower and dirt around air vents. Bed was comfortable, but not spectacular. Good location though, easy walking distance to all Salem sights. Price was a little high, expected a little more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmasters323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear JonMasters323,
Thank you for letting us know you found our cleaning/housekeeping staff did not perform to our expectations. We are checking into this matter, and do hope it was a one-time occurrence. We are pleased, however, that you found our rooms, service and location to be rated very good.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you search for a Radisson hotel ambiance or only can get used to glass an stainless steel places, don't go to the Salem Inn.
We love to inhale from time to time the atmosphere of old houses, cracking floors and furniture that is no longer in fashion. The Salem Inn has it all and provides quality and service as required. Our bath room was small but effective with a nice hot shower, the room was certainly back to the English past, the bed was a bit too soft but still OK, WIFI worked very well and it was clean. The breakfast was simple but offered great English muffins and that added to our experience. Staff was not superior or inferior, just doing the job as required. We could park our car in front of the inn and if this would not be possible, there is free parking around the corner. The Inn is situated in an interesting part of Salem and walking around is a joy.
One request: we would love to drink coffee during breakfast instead of the usually terrible hot black water as served in many places in the US. An investment in expresso, capuchino and cafe machiato would add to the experience, albeit that English may prefer to drink tea, also in NEW England.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Lagoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Joao,
We certainly appreciate your taking time to write your very nice review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay in our old New England home, its antique furnishings, and the character that comes with them, as well as the complimentary Wi-Fi, buffet breakfast, and free parking.
Our superb location is situated where the Samuel McIntyre Historic district meets our vibrant downtown, making walking to area attractions preferable to driving everywhere.
Thank you very much,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.1 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Property: The Salem Inn
Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing