We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“England in New England - it is all about atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Salem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salem Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“England in New England - it is all about atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you search for a Radisson hotel ambiance or only can get used to glass an stainless steel places, don't go to the Salem Inn.
We love to inhale from time to time the atmosphere of old houses, cracking floors and furniture that is no longer in fashion. The Salem Inn has it all and provides quality and service as required. Our bath room was small but effective with a nice hot shower, the room was certainly back to the English past, the bed was a bit too soft but still OK, WIFI worked very well and it was clean. The breakfast was simple but offered great English muffins and that added to our experience. Staff was not superior or inferior, just doing the job as required. We could park our car in front of the inn and if this would not be possible, there is free parking around the corner. The Inn is situated in an interesting part of Salem and walking around is a joy.
One request: we would love to drink coffee during breakfast instead of the usually terrible hot black water as served in many places in the US. An investment in expresso, capuchino and cafe machiato would add to the experience, albeit that English may prefer to drink tea, also in NEW England.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Lagoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Joao,
We certainly appreciate your taking time to write your very nice review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay in our old New England home, its antique furnishings, and the character that comes with them, as well as the complimentary Wi-Fi, buffet breakfast, and free parking.
Our superb location is situated where the Samuel McIntyre Historic district meets our vibrant downtown, making walking to area attractions preferable to driving everywhere.
Thank you very much,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    189
    77
    50
    60
See reviews for
150
285
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews here but I was sold on the location. After staying for 2 nights to celebrate our 25th Anniverary this past weekend I think the bad reviews were unjust. The staff was always kind and helpful. The bed was a bit soft for my taste but nowhere near as atrocious as some people said.

We stayed in a Whirlpool Suite on the 2nd floor. It was very nicely decorated with a canopy bed. The bathroom was large and there was a separate room for the whirlpool bath. The room was clean and large with a nice HDTV and a loveseat. This is a very old building and not a new Marriot so your expectations should be reflective of this.

The Breakfast was better than expected , bagels,muffins,bread,cereals,fruit, yogurt,coffee,juices and the best part was the Quiche. This breakfast was more than enough to hold us till lunch time.

The location is fantastic , literally walk out the door and make a right on Essex and you are in the Witch Capitol of the world. Parking is either right on the street in front or a block away behind the Curwin House.

Overall a pleasant stay

Room Tip: 2nd floor to save walking up 4 flights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Downward PA,
Thank you for your nice review and for sharing your Salem Inn experience at our historic 1834 Captain West House. I'm disappointed the bed was a little soft for your taste, but as you know, beds are such an individual preference, it is impossible to have one that pleases all. However, we are currently in the process of reassessing and replacing many of our mattresses.
Thank you, too, for complimenting our staff, our hearty continental breakfast buffet, as well as your clean, spacious room with modern amenities.
We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to your return visit.
Many thanks,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Peabody House family suite. My husband & 18 year old daughter were very pleased with the whole feel to our rooms. Yes the plumbing is a bit rocky but you have to expect things like that with an extremely old house. The location was incredible as you literally walked a few blocks to Essex st & you were in the heart of everything. Whatever unflattering reviews there were in the past, they definitely have addressed them. The staff was profession & friendly. We will definitely return. Sincerely, Bel ,Mitch & Jamie

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blamar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Bel, Mitch and Jamie,
Thank you very much for writing your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in a family suite in our 1874 historic Peabody House. Thanks, too, for your compliments to our loyal, hardworking staff. They certainly appreciate it. Please do visit again.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very nice inn. Central location made it easy to walk to everything we wanted to see. The room was comfortable but the bed was a little soft. Nice fireplace for the colder weather and a nice continental breakfast. Would definetly stay here again. Loved Salem. Had a great meal at Finz right on the water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilepepperdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Dave,
Glad you loved Salem and enjoyed your two night stay in Salem Inn's Curwen House. We'd love to have you stay with us again in the winter, so you can enjoy the warmth, ambiance and coziness of a fireplaced room. Please be aware that we are in the process of replacing many of our mattresses, and the room you stayed in is on our list.
Thanks so much for your kinds words, Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Inn is located in a beautiful area ... a quick walk to most locations. We enjoyed the residential neighborhood it was located in....so many beautiful homes. We had a honeymoon suite ... it was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was decent, I wouldn't expect anymore based on the price paid for the room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear MamaHM,
We couldn't agree more with you that the Salem Inn is in a terrific location, adjacent to the incredible McIntyre Historic neighborhood. In fact, the entire nearby Chestnut Street is on the National Register of Historic Places, and has often been called one of the most beautiful streets in America.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and your honeymoon suite, too.
Thanks, Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed in Peabody House in a family suite. Great room(s) for the three of us with a cute little kitchen too. Minutes walk from everything Built in 1874 it has so much character like the rest of Salem. Small parking lot in back so there is some off street parking on busy Summer Street but once you park you can pretty much leave it. Would definitely stay here again! Breakfast every morning too from 8-10 I think

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stingrayboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Stingrayboots,
Nice to hear that our family suite in the Peabody House, with its convenient kitchenette, suited your family of three.
The parking area behind the House has more than enough spaces to accommodate all the guests staying there, and the walk to downtown is a very short one.
You are correct. Our free, hearty buffet breakfast is served daily from 8 10 in our main building, the Captain West House.
Thank you for taking the time to write. Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a pleasant inn located on one of the main routes from the airport, so a convenient place to go within 20 minutes of landing at Boston Logan rather than struggling to drive into central Boston. The inn is old and seems a little faded, but perfectly clean and well-equipped and full of character. The room had a fireplace, and the bed was queen sized. We were at the back so the traffic didn’t bother us. Also, we were on the ground floor so luckily we didn’t have to drag our luggage upstairs. We were in the main building-the West House-where you check in, eat breakfast etc. Parking was nearby in a car park behind one of the other houses, but luckily we found one of the free parking spots directly outside, where we could park without paying all day and night. Breakfast was good-it can be taken in the small courtyard, which is nice in hot weather. There was a hearty selection of bagels, muffins, cakes, cereal, melon and a quiche. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all that Salem has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house (West House) downstairs and at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lilgecko,
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn with other travelers. You are the ideal guest, as you certainly appreciate the ambiance and character of our inn, and everything we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
0.1 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Property: The Salem Inn
Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing