We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peabody House is great”
Review of The Salem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Salem Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed in Peabody House in a family suite. Great room(s) for the three of us with a cute little kitchen too. Minutes walk from everything Built in 1874 it has so much character like the rest of Salem. Small parking lot in back so there is some off street parking on busy Summer Street but once you park you can pretty much leave it. Would definitely stay here again! Breakfast every morning too from 8-10 I think

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stingrayboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Stingrayboots,
Nice to hear that our family suite in the Peabody House, with its convenient kitchenette, suited your family of three.
The parking area behind the House has more than enough spaces to accommodate all the guests staying there, and the walk to downtown is a very short one.
You are correct. Our free, hearty buffet breakfast is served daily from 8 10 in our main building, the Captain West House.
Thank you for taking the time to write. Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 707 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a pleasant inn located on one of the main routes from the airport, so a convenient place to go within 20 minutes of landing at Boston Logan rather than struggling to drive into central Boston. The inn is old and seems a little faded, but perfectly clean and well-equipped and full of character. The room had a fireplace, and the bed was queen sized. We were at the back so the traffic didn’t bother us. Also, we were on the ground floor so luckily we didn’t have to drag our luggage upstairs. We were in the main building-the West House-where you check in, eat breakfast etc. Parking was nearby in a car park behind one of the other houses, but luckily we found one of the free parking spots directly outside, where we could park without paying all day and night. Breakfast was good-it can be taken in the small courtyard, which is nice in hot weather. There was a hearty selection of bagels, muffins, cakes, cereal, melon and a quiche. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all that Salem has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house (West House) downstairs and at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Lilgecko,
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn with other travelers. You are the ideal guest, as you certainly appreciate the ambiance and character of our inn, and everything we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Salem Inn is a good place to stay within walking distance of main sights in Salem. They have new rooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast is continental but mostly packaged items rather than fresh. Try to get a room off of the main street as is pretty loud in the morning (traffic). Would come back again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Adam,
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of our historic Inn. I'm pleased you found our new beds comforable, and our location convenient, in the the heart of our little city. As you point out, we are located on a major taraffic route, so light sleepers should request one of our many rooms off the street.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a beautiful Inn, the room was a perfect fit for our family of 5. The only draw back was taking the luggage up and down the stairs. The location was great,once we found our place to park we left the car and walked everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear BDX2,
I'm so pleased that one of our family suites was the perfect fit for you and your family of five. As a historic inn, we do not have elevators, and with rooms on four floors, sometimes a hike up is required. We do advise guests, both verbally and in our literature, of this fact.
I'm glad, too, that you enjoyed our superb location in our city center, near to all of Salem's wonderful attractions, museums, restaurants and shops.
Thank you again for writing. Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I just saw the movie 'Albert Nobbs' about an early 20'th century hotel in Ireland, and this place has the same flavor (except it doesn't have a restaurant). If you don't mind walking a block from the parking lot and carrying your luggage up to the third or fourth floor, this hotel has all the charm you'd expect from an older building. (By the way, the parking lot isn't near as far away as the review by Ernest H says!) The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and welcoming. If you like the aesthetics and standardization of amenities of a modern hotel, don't pick the Salem Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back to avoid street noise. The superior rooms with jetted tubs are proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear CKTravellor,
Thanks so much for sharing the essence of what the Salem Inn is all about - it is a historic inn with three buildings on the National Register, built in 1834, 1854, and 1874 respectively. Most of our rooms are very spacious, and we try hard to make them welcoming for our guests.
You are right on in advising others not to pick our Inn if they want the standardization of a modern hotel, as we are anything but. However, we certainly try to be state of the art with amenities such as large high definition, flat screen TVs, and spacious, comfortable king and queen beds.
Thanks again for taking the time to write. Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from the Salem Inn for a night stay in historic Salem for my birthday weekend. We were able to check in early, and it seemed like a quick and simple check in since my husband came out in a breeze. We stayed in room 53 in the main house..and the 2 flights of stairs to the top were not fun...but the room waiting for us was worth it! The Inn really does have a lot of historic charm and the suite we stayed in was beautiful. Everything was clean and spacious, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in while staying in a hotel. I wanted to carry it out and take it home! The staff were nice, but did not really seem to go out of their way to chat or give suggestions of certain things. Even on that note we enjoyed our time at the Inn. The continental breakfast was exactly what you would expect, and was fine to hold us over until lunch time. I really liked that we were in walking distance to everything that we wanted to see. I have read other reviews about parking...but we parked at one of the houses with no problem, and even right in front of the Inn upon check out. Everything was great and I would for sure stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 53 was a great room with the most comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessR_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear JessR_16,
Happy belated birthday. So glad you had a great stay in room 53 of the Captain West House, our 1834 main historic building. It's nice to hear how comfortable you found the bed to be. We are in the process of making sure all our beds have newer, very restful and comfortable mattresses.
Thanks for sharing your observation about the parking situation at the Inn. Both the Curwen and Peabody Houses have large parking lots directly behind, and all three buildings have parking on street directly in front. At you pointed out, the Inn is walking distance to just about everything, so extremely convenient to sight-see.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a lovely place to stay in historical Salem, MA! We stayed in the 'honeymoon' suite which is located on the first floor of the Peabody House. Our suite was perfect in every way from the four poster king bed to the double Jacuzzi in our massive bathroom. My husband stopped when he opened the door, turned to me and said "Oh, you're going to love this!"
If you want a little slice of 'historical America' in a peaceful and serene location we would highly recommend staying at the Salem Inn. The hustle and bustle are just around the corner so you will not miss out on anything but when you're tired and need to relax you'll have this lovely Inn waiting for you when you return.
Parking: Having read some of these reviews we were half expecting to have trouble with parking but our lot was to the back of the building and we had no problem at all. We just left the car there throughout our trip and walked to everything and we're in our sixties.
Food: 'If you don't want a continental breakfast' alot of people on this site are recommending "Red's" on Central Street, but we found we liked "Fountain Place' on Essex Street just as well,so if you don't like waiting in lines for your breakfast at Red's stop in there it's closer. Both places are lacking ambiance but the food is really good and we think that's the most important element when you're needing your morning coffee..
Readings: We recommend the OMEN....they'll 'knock your socks off'!
My husband and I have found that the most important element before taking a trip is to do your 'homework' and we're not world travelers. Know what you want before you book your room and ask for it and you won't be dissappointed when you reach your destination.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seekers1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Seekers 1947,
What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted you really enjoyed your honeymoon suite in our vintage 1874 Dutch colonial building, the Peabody House of the Salem Inn.
Your observations about parking in Salem is right on. Between our two private Inn parking lots and non-metered street parking directly in front of our buildings, parking is really not an issue, and Salem truly is a walking city.
Your mention of Reds and Fountain Place aptly describe two of the most popular places with locals to eat (not dine) in Salem. Salem is home to a great number and variety of cafes and restaurants that add to the charm of our historic little city.
Thank you again, Diane Pabich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $178 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing