We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fun Local Pub”
Review of The Old Spot - CLOSED

The Old Spot
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mass
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super Fun Local Pub”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

So glad I went with the reviews who loved this place. The staff were all great, super friendly. Fish and Chips and burgers one could not ask for better. Fun pub environment could see hanging out here on a cold night. Definately a pub to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dachsund2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    61
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy fish and chips”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great casual atmosphere, tasty fish and chips, oh and cold beer! Can't complain. It's a great place to go after a long day touring Salem. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank graveyardgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in Salem”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love pubs & this one didn't disappoint -- the whole family was happy, great drinks & delicious food. After a couple of really bland meals at other highly-rated restaurants in Salem, we were wondering if that was just the way local food was going to be -- glad it wasn't the case! I'd drive up there tomorrow for more of their soft pretzel bites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank padstow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbett, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great mojito!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a great place to sit and relax with friends. The food was delicious and reasonably prices. The portions are big and fresh. I had a mojito and it was excellent. The service is fast and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lheilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great pub atmosphere- love sitting on the bar side in the cute table nooks with comfy pillows.
Great drinks and food- the pretzels are great- tonight we tries the gravy fried which were basically steak fries covered in a beef stew- very good. My all time fab is the meat pie and my husband got the piginator which was an open face sandwich with every type of pork in it. For dessert- the spotted dick! Basically bread pudding- very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMGBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing