We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent B&B, Highly Recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bechtelsville
1 review
“An Excellent B&B, Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed at the Northey Street House for 4 days and every one was an absolute pleasure. The room was perfectly suited for us, especially traveling with an 8 month old. Very clean and spacious rooms, great breakfast, and superb hospitality from the owner. The house was located only minutes walk from the train to Boston as well as the shops and museums of Salem. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kevalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    62
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
167
388
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Northey House was very convenient to all locations that we visited in Salem. We enjoyed the short walks to visit the attractions. Flora at the Northey House was very accommodating. Our room was spacious and very nicely furnished. We would definitely stay at the Northey House again!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank the3cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

The trip advisor description of the B&B described a "restored federal house." There was absolutely nothing restored in our family suite, the kitchen and sitting room . I later learned our suite was an addition to the house. The owner left for the weekend the morning after we arrived. The person in charge for the weekend served stone cold hard boiled eggs, stale pastries, and fruit salad that had been made days before. The breasfast the next morning was all the same food from the day before.
We were very disappointed. There wasn't a door separating our room from the room our two sons stayed in . There was a curtain and the boys room was the kitchen. I'm sure this B&B owner doesn't go away often, but I wish she had told us she wouldn't be there before we booked the reservation and I wish she had been more up-front about the accommodations.

  • Liked — really nothing
  • Disliked — breakfast, room, location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pepper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Jersey shore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

We take 1 grandchild each summer for a vacation with "Omi" & "Pop". This year was 10 yr old Emma's turn. Our stay at the Northey House was without flaw. The room was perfect for the 3 of us and within walking distance for all the Salem attractions.

Our breakfasts were lovely and we enjoyed eating each morning with other guests on the outside deck. Flora headed out each morning for amazing fresh baked breads and pastries. And...Charlie....the dog...WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE? Yes, we'll be back.
Neil & Pat Jaggie & Emma

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Omipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We were very happy at the Northey Street House B & B this summer. It is ideally situated for a walking tour of historic Salem. The room was immaculate, large and beautifully furnished. The bathroom was spotless. Breakfast out on the deck was something to linger over. Flora is a terrific hostess and Charlie the dog put the children at ease. No reservations over this reservation!

  • Liked — comfort, cleanliness, frienly
  • Disliked — didn't know ahead of time about the lovely dog
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

This Inn is beautiful. We stayed at 4 B&B's on our New England trip and NOrthey St. House was by far the nicest. The place is clean, modern, and big. The room and bathroom were huge for B&B standards. We had access to the kitchen and living room to store our refrigerated stuff. Flora is very nice and Charlie is a sweet little beagle that loves kids. The only downside is the location. It's not quite in the heart of Salem, it's a decent walk to downtown. We only stayed only night, but 1 more night would have been enough to see all of Salem. Salem is a little run down except in a couple of square blocks. Wireless internet in the room is a nice plus.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank ssullydc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I recently visited Salem and stayed at the Northey B&B. It was located within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Flora the innkeeper was very knowledgeable about the attractions in Salem and surrounding areas. The room we stayed in "Captain's Quarters" was very nice with a private bath. I would highly recommend staying there if you are planning a visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvmypups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.5 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30 Northey St, Salem, MA 01970-3905
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House b&b
Northey Street House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing