We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bewitching B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sherrard, Il
1 review
“A Bewitching B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

My daughter and I were very happy with our stay at Flora's. Our room was very bright and cheery. The location was perfect.....close enough to walk to all of the wonderful sites in Salem but far enough away to avoid noisy traffic. We felt perfectly safe walking back to the B&B after dark. Flora's family was very friendly. Great food, very clean and attractive rooms, helpful and considerate hostess.... a very positive experience!! I am sure that this will not be our last visit to the Northey Street House B&B!

  • Liked — I liked the location, price, hostess
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sassykat_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    62
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
167
388
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Northey Street B&B. We would recommend this B&B without reservation and would definitely consider staying there again. The location was great as it was within walking distance to the historical sites and restaurants, and yet it was not on the main street which provided for a peaceful and quiet place to stay. The breakfast was fantastic and the snacks/beverages that were available throughout the day/night were an added bonus. The other distinction that we noticed was the preparation of the room and the every day items that were available for guests (ie. hair dryer, iron, lotion, shampoo/conditioner). We will consider staying here again for a future trip to the Salem/Marblehead/Swampscott area.

  • Liked — location, room/lodging accomidations, good food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELOR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

We had a two-room suite which was more than large enough. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom large and clean, and the breakfast was tasty. Friendly hosts and wonderful accommodations.

  • Liked — Comfortable, friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Uffyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed at the Northey Street Bed and Breakfast for five days and had a wonderful time. Breakfast was superb, room was very clean and even bigger than expected, wireless internet worked well, and the owner bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. The Northey B&B is in a great location right near Boston's T line and within walking distance of a number of sights in Salem.

  • Liked — Reasonable rate and very nice room
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lizsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

Flora' s Northey Street Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Salem, Mass. The house is decorated beautifully, is very comfortable and located only a short walk to most Salem historical sights.
The breakfast was outstanding, with various cheeses, breads, muffins, fruit and hot drinks. One went away from the breakfast full.
The deck is a great place to relax after a long day siteseeing.
This was our first experience at a B & B, and I would highly recomend this B & B for all who are visiting Salem.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank Adkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansan in Mass
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

Flora provides a wonderful and friendly place to enjoy and explore Salem. The rooms are large and decorated beautifully and she provides many extra little touches that quietly say welcome. Location is but a short walk to the Commons and all the attractions. Flora's breakfast are outstanding(she does your eggs to your request) and Charlie is a nice and well behaved pet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The breakfast was terrific and the room charming
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KansaninMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

This was our first Bed & Breakfast stay, and we could not have found a nicer place. We stayed in the 2 room suite, and it is absolutely beautiful! Thank you so much!

Kathy and Norm

  • Liked — We felt comfortable enough to sleep well.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NormChicopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.5 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 30 Northey St, Salem, MA 01970-3905
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House b&b
Northey Street House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing